• Please make sure you are familiar with the forum rules. You can find them here: https://forums.tripwireinteractive.com/index.php?threads/forum-rules.2334636/

What is classic game mode?

Once again: Classic Mode is a programming task. Maps, weapons, and other content are jobs for the art team. Believe it or not, people on the development team have specialized tasks. Coders code. Mappers map. Mappers do not code, and vice versa. Classic mode does not impede the development of new maps.

See this post and my last post. You don't get it.

I'm a programmer myself, so I get what you're saying. However, I stick with my point. First of all because there's still a lot of things that programmers can improve (cannot phrone here, gun shooting out of the hands and lots more).

Second, there's also a management part in it. Tripwire has a budget available for this game (how much time they can put in for new content, modes, bug fixes etc..). They can shift their resources to fill in that budget as they wish. They have other projects going, so depending on the planning, they could make more map makers available for this game at this time. It's more complicated than how I put it here, but saying the programmers would be out of work without the creation of classic mode is wrong.

Except a lot of players just might come back, leaving those who enjoy RO2 as it is to play it the way you want to while the influx of new or returning players moves over to Classic. Your place in the world is not changing.

We'll have to see, but I really don't believe it will. The diehard RO1'ers are a minority of the total sales amount. Why not try to please the majority in the first place, and if there's money left do what you can for that minority, it only makes sense.

Upvote 0
My take on this is simple, like classic or not its gotta be tried

We've tried the " will be all things to all men approach" and player numbers speak for themselves