• Please make sure you are familiar with the forum rules. You can find them here: https://forums.tripwireinteractive.com/index.php?threads/forum-rules.2334636/

What is good about KF, and what would you wish it had been?

Udyrfrykte

FNG / Fresh Meat
Sep 10, 2010
Hi everyone.
Why I'm wondering that?
I'm an apprentice programmer (not a rookie, not a veteran) who likes KF very much. I played it all the way from the very start as an UT mod in 1.0 and bought the game on steam.
I am, with a small team, going to create a game in less than a year as a part of a school task (finishing my bachelor in a games development-ish degree). The game will be some sort of zombie survival co-op thing. We are still planning things out, exactly why I am asking it too. Only thing that is sure is that it will be mission based.

What I like about KF is the desperation I felt when ammo was running low, baddies getting tough, people dying.
What I hated (I haven't played in a while, might have changed) was that sometimes players would be a solohero and give F in their team.

KF would be cool with a mission oriented campaign for instance. I'm not saying this should be done, because I know that would prove challenging or at least a lot of work without changing the engine.

So, basically, I want your ideas for a cool co-op game.

Just a few things off the top of my head...

Good:

• Each zed type is very distinct and iconic and instantly recognizable with clearly differentiated colours and silhouettes, so you can make quick decisions about your targets without getting annoyed at trying to figure out what your situation even is.
  • Most of the player characters have enough concealed that it could be any dude underneath the mask.