• Please make sure you are familiar with the forum rules. You can find them here: https://forums.tripwireinteractive.com/index.php?threads/forum-rules.2334636/

Tactics PTRD tactics

Llama

Grizzled Veteran
Nov 21, 2005
Cardiff, UK
I've been playing around with the PTRD recently and trying to get to know the weapon and how to use it. I looked back at the mod forum for a few hints, but there didnt seem to be a thread dedicated to this, so i thought i'd start one here!
As i say i'm no expert in this field (or many for that matter!), so I'm asking people to post some of their tactics. I'd like shooting at tanks and infantry carrying vehicles (ie half track) to be covered if possible :). Shooting at tracks, engines, ammo stores, through hatches and which are the best to go for. Also possibly ways to possition yourself so as to get the best chance of disabling it.

Llama

You have two problems to handle when using lighter weapons (14.5mm PTRD and the 20mm TNSh on the T-60)...

First is finding armour thin enough to penetrate. Usually sides or rear - or the engine deck if you can get a shot at it.

Second is hitting something "useful" with a small round even if you do penetrate. But a few rounds into the engine will usually cause plenty of problems. Of course, unless the tank crew is terminally dense, they should be looking for YOU by the time you get the second or third round in :)

Upvote 0
I remember the first time I used the PTRD in RO.

"ROFL!!! WTF HAPPENED?" i yell after seeing it say i killed 3 people from shooting a tank.

A teamate that was near me said "lol you hit the ammo sotrage probly"
"omfg this gun owns."
It's my favorite gun :p I got good at killing people with it.

I really have no idea where the ammo sotrages are exactly.. I aim around the turret.. the ammo is somewhere tehre. I hope their manual will show a top/down and side view to show where the key locations to shoot are.