• Please make sure you are familiar with the forum rules. You can find them here: https://forums.tripwireinteractive.com/index.php?threads/forum-rules.2334636/

My View: "I'm an RO:Mod Vet / RO1 Vet" and How to Tame Things a Bit:

Cpt-Praxius

Grizzled Veteran
Dec 12, 2005
Canadian in Australia
I've been bouncing between the various sections of these forums and the Steam forums for quite a while now. I've been seeing all the different side of each argument for just about everything under the sun.

Most of the threads and posts I see from people, including from myself sometimes, usually start with someone giving their opinion on an element in RO2 and how it's either good, bad or needs some kind of changing, etc...... and each person, regardless of what the subject is or how well they word their arguments, almost always start off with:

"I'm an RO1 Vet"

Good for you.... I'm an RO:Mod Vet, does that make my view and my argument more valid?

The answer is no.

Whether someone has been playing RO since Ostfront, or since Combined Arms or just got into RO via RO2..... everybody's opinion and view of the game are equally the same as the next person's. Stating how long you've played Red Orchestra makes no difference, so why bother?

I make arguments on one topic which may or may not agree with another's view, and then someone tries to disqualify my arguments or views by saying "I'm an RO:Ost Vet, you obviously never played RO1" or "Go back to playing CoD"

Really?? What is that accomplishing?

Should I have to start all my posts by stating "I'm an RO:CA Vet?" in order to try and avoid this?

One would think you shouldn't have to, but it seems today that we have a community split between Mod Vets, RO1 Vets and RO2 Recruits..... and all of us have very differing views and experiences towards Red Orchestra and what direction the game should take.