• Please make sure you are familiar with the forum rules. You can find them here: https://forums.tripwireinteractive.com/index.php?threads/forum-rules.2334636/

Adventures in real computing

If this past week has taught me anything, it's that Murphy is alive and well and living in my house.

This whole deal started innocently enough. All I wanted to do was to replace the old AMD Athlon XP 1600+ processor I've been using for the last 6 years. I found an Athlon XP 2900+ at a decent price, so I was off to a good start.

Murphy #1 - Next time remember to check the heatsink/fan unit! That Thermaltake Volcano 6cu was fine for the 1600+, but all it would have done for the 2900+ is slow the meltdown process a bit. Off we go to Fry's for a new HSF and some thermal compound!

Well, the CPU gets here and all goes well during the installation. New CPU, new HSF in place, all is good! Reprogram the BIOS for the new CPU and reboot. And reboot again. And again. Ad infinitum, ad nauseum...

Murphy #2 - Seems that those two sticks of memory (one 512MB and one 256MB) that worked so well together at 333MHz frontside bus don't work quite so well together at 400MHz FSB. At least as far as WinXP Pro is concerned, they don't! Turn and look at the wife, develop a severe twitch when contemplating telling her I need to spend more money on another stick of memory, and decide 1/2 a gig will do. For now.

One stick of memory removed and Windows boots. Yay! Time to give this puppy a workout! Also time to check for BIOS revisions, since I don't remember the last time I did it. Good thing, too, since the current one is at least 2 revisions out of date! Or is it? Waitaminit...NF7, NF7-S, NF7-S2, NF7-SG...v1.0-1.2 and v2.0...too many revisions...too many motherboards with similar model numbers...brain tired (cripes, it's 3:00 in the flipping morning!)...wait, that one looks right...