• Please make sure you are familiar with the forum rules. You can find them here: https://forums.tripwireinteractive.com/index.php?threads/forum-rules.2334636/

My game crashes all the time.

C-zom

May 22, 2009
Whenever I try to play Killing Floor, on any settings and on any map, it crashes after not even 20 seconds in game.

It crashes to desktop with no error. It says "My display drivers have stopped responding." I'm not a newbie to tech, at all. I built this computer. I tried default clock speeds, rolling back to the 170 drivers. I'm currently using 185.85 drivers.

But whenever I play it crashes to desktop because of my GPU or something. Sometimes, there will be a DirectX looking error report but its always different.

My specs:

Vista SP2
Intel e2180 @ 3.2GHz
4GB 1066MHz G.Skill RAM
Geforce 8800GT 512MB 700/1850/1003

Things I've tried:

Turning off Mouse Smoothing or whatever
Vsync and Triple Buff on
Turning off AA
Putting it on a 4:10 resolution
Turning my overclock to defaults, on both CPU and GPU
Turning Audio to low quality

It. Always. Crashes.

Build KillingFloor_Build_[2009-02-09_10.82]

CPU: GenuineIntel PentiumPro-class processor @ 3902 MHz with 2047MB RAM
Video: NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT (8585)

IDirect3DVertexBuffer9::Lock failed(88760870).

History: FD3D9VertexStream::Cache <- FD3D9RenderInterface::SetVertexStreams <- USkeletalMeshInstance::Render <- FDynamicActor::Render <- FActorSceneNode::Render <- UShadowBitmapMaterial::Get <- FD3D9RenderInterface::SetProjectorMaterial <- FD3D9RenderInterface::SetMaterial <- RenderStaticMesh <- FDynamicActor::Render <- RenderLevel <- KF-Offices.myLevel <- FLevelSceneNode::Render <- FPlayerSceneNode::Render <- UGameEngine::Draw <- UWindowsViewport::Repaint <- UWindowsClient::Tick <- ClientTick <- UGameEngine::Tick <- Level KF-Offices <- UpdateWorld <- MainLoop <- FMallocWindows::Free <- FMallocWindows::Realloc <- 4C576C61 0 FArray <- FArray::Realloc <- 0*2 <- FMallocWindows::Free