• Please make sure you are familiar with the forum rules. You can find them here: https://forums.tripwireinteractive.com/index.php?threads/forum-rules.2334636/

New System, need your opinions

Nimsky

Grizzled Veteran
Nov 22, 2005
Elitist Prick Nude Beach
Yes, another hardware thread.:p But I'm a hardware noob, so I need your opinions. Will the memory be compatible with the mobo I chose? And is a HD cooler really necessary?

Anyway, here it is.

Power supply: Fortron 400 watt ATX
Mobo: Intel DG965OT (mATX)
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E6700 2.67Ghz
Cooling: Zalman CNPS 7700 ALCU cooler
Memory: Crucial 2GB DDR2 667Mhz
Extra memory: Crucial 1GB DDR2 667Mhz
Hard drive: Seagate 320GB 7200 Sata2 16MB
HD Cooler*: Spire harde schijf HDD cooler
Videocard: Point of View VGA 8800GTX 768Mb PCI-E

I left out certain things I already have, ie DVD drive, keyboard, Audigy 2 ZS soundcard (I'm happy with it).

*Is a HD cooler really necessary?

So what do you think? Will this thing be able to run demanding games like ArmA with all settings on full?

Thanks!

You need a stronger power supply if you're going to be running all that hardware. Get at the very least a 600W.

I don't know what to say about your motherboard, but a micro ATX might not be able to handle the 8800GTX purely due to size (the motherboard is close to 24x24cm in size...the 8800GTX is something like 28cm in length. See, I'm using metric too).

Anyway your best bet with the motherboard is probably going to be to look for a full ATX. If that processor/memory combo you're looking for is what you want, try looking at this motherboard http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131048

DDR2 800 memory seems to be the most supported on Core 2 Duo ATX motherboards, so upgrading the memory to that may not be a bad idea either. Of course when you go ahead and do that you need to check for compatibility between all of your hardware.

Upvote 0