• Please make sure you are familiar with the forum rules. You can find them here: https://forums.tripwireinteractive.com/index.php?threads/forum-rules.2334636/

Beta Map RO-Kuzernki Beta

ViViD said:
Thanks Guppy for clarifying, and the tips on what to do with the houses, will work on that.

Commissar: Yeah yet to understand how I should optimize the map read one tutorial and a few posts, but if you have any hints and tips would be awesome. But another great tip to add to the list.

Thanks for the advice more more <smile>
Well I am rather new to mapping myself, but I think the town buildings could make great use of antiportals and the farm house and/or barn could perhaps use a zoneportal. There is also of course the option to adjust the maximum visibility of the distance fog.

A set of great tutorials on Unrealed optimizations are included in the 3D Buzz tutorial series that comes with the UT2004 DVD version (thats how I started to learn how to map, it alone is worth the cost of the game IMO).

Last edited:
Upvote 0
[5.SS] Herr Hut said:
Played this one on our server last night. Very good map, I like the overall feel of it.

However, there is one glaring problem that will probably take it out of our rotation until it is fixed. As it stands now the Germans can fill up their halftrack and zoom out to the tower, and cap it before the Russians can even get there to defend it. It would be good for the gameplay of the map if the tower was not available to cap until the farmhouse was taken.

Otherwise, just minor complaints/questions:

Did you mean to give the Russians no immediate (i.e. no satchels or PTRD)way to destroy the halftracks? Personally, I kind of like it the way it is now, because the HT's can be disabled by MG fire, and a well placed nade can do quite a bit of damage.

I will have this corrected on the new beta (This friday coming) as it is a major gameplay issue as discussed, along with a couple of new buildings opened up.