• Please make sure you are familiar with the forum rules. You can find them here: https://forums.tripwireinteractive.com/index.php?threads/forum-rules.2334636/

Possible Clown Car/Satchel Solution?

Hello, Isaak Johnson here, and with an idea on how to solve the whole Clown Car/Satchel combo that so many of us dont like.

Also, I did try and do a search on the forums for any similar topics but I couldn't find anything, so please forgive me if this idea has allready been suggested.

Also this is just an idea for discussion, if it comes to the conclusion that my idea wont work I suggest that we see if we came come up with some other fair ideas to solve the problem.

Ok, so far what I have heard about the Clown Car/Satchel combo is that someone with a satchel gets on top of the Clown Car and has someone else drive up to a tank, then he drops the satchel and KABOOM!!

Well I have had some experience with modeling and map making and I believe that a basic fact may help us solve this problem if it is implemented in the Unreal engine that RO uses.

In most games when a model is made, of a person or vehicle or even a static decorative object there are actually two meshes that go with it, the mesh you see with all its pretty textures and shapes, making it look like a person or a tank, then the hit box. The hit box is another mesh alltogether that is the same generall shape as the visable mesh but more boxey. This mesh is completly invisable and is what detects when the tank or person is hit by a bullet or if hes walking into a wall. This is the reason why sometimes it looks like the blood splater from your shot looks like its hitting the air next to your targets head or between his legs, but in fact it is hitting the hitbox and registers as a hit.

So far Doom 3 is the only game that I have heard of that does not use hit boxes for its models.