• Please make sure you are familiar with the forum rules. You can find them here: https://forums.tripwireinteractive.com/index.php?threads/forum-rules.2334636/

Code Weapon Ownership

xtsnet

Jun 23, 2012
Hi, Newbie here. I;m trying to get information on how I'd go about creating a MUT that assigns an ownership value/property to weapons when they are purchased at the trader. The purpose is to make it so that if a player buys more than 1 weapon (Firebug for instance buys multiple Flame Throwers) and then throws those weaps off to the side while he buys another, a different player cant come along pick it up and sell it .

So the base design would be:

(PSEUDO CODE)

if(!strcmp(weapon->ownername, player->name))
{
allow the weap to be picked up
}else{
msg("SORRY THIS IS NOT YOUR WEAPON");
}

Something along those lines with in, Id assume, the pickup class somewhere

Never worked with UnrealScript b4 - but any suggestions would be appreciated - just looking for a starting point.

Been through the Mut tutorials and it all makes sense - and have compiled stuff - but lost as far as the code structure and code references

:D TIA

1. Open KF editor. Go to Actor Classes and select 'File -> Export All Scripts' to update source codes ofexisting packages.
2. Get the UnCodeX program. It shows the entire class tree of UnrealScript and can help you a lot.

Now about your problem:
Weapon that player holds in his inventory and the one which is dropped on the ground are completely different classes.
a) Take a look on "DropFrom()" function inside KFWeapon class. It is executed when player drops a gun. "Instigator" variable points on the current weapon holder. Store it somewhere.
b) Then check the "CheckCanCarry" function inside the KFWeaponPickup class. It receives KFHumanPawn argument, which can be compared with previously stored Instigator.