• Please make sure you are familiar with the forum rules. You can find them here: https://forums.tripwireinteractive.com/index.php?threads/forum-rules.2334636/

wait for additional crewmembers-alternative

Capt.Marion

Grizzled Veteran
Feb 12, 2006
Beantown
We all know the wonderful "Wait for Additional Crewmembers" slogan we see every time we jump in a tank.

And we all know the even better 30 second pause because there's one guy AFK in spawn not in a tank.

I'm not suggesting getting rid of this. Conversely, I believe that this is actually kind of realistic. I'm a mechanic. All internal engines up until the 1970s require a warmup period, for the engine block to warm up enough. Even the engine in my truck, with only 230 cubic inches of displacement (3.77 litres) won't run unless you give it its 3 minutes to get warmed up to temperature.

If should realistically take the PzKpfw V Tiger I a LOT longer to warm up , with its 23 litres of displacement. Additionally, it wouldn't run very well at all until it is warmed up enough, especially if you tried to put it in gear and go. Same goes for the Diesel in the T34/85, et cetera.

So, what I am suggesting is keep this 30-sec pause when you get in a tank and fire it up for the first time. Add a 20-second extra sound clip between the starting clip and the idling clip that has it running kind of rough while it warms up. And add a temp gauge so you can see when it is warmed up enough.

End result: you still have the delay so you have time for teammates to get in your tank, but it is more realistic.

Sounds like a good way to making an in-game mechanic less gamey.. I like it.

I believe historically tanker crews would probably keep their engines running before hand for a while if they 'expected' to do an engagement.. especially in the cold. (Someone definitely correct me though if I'm wrong)