• Please make sure you are familiar with the forum rules. You can find them here: https://forums.tripwireinteractive.com/index.php?threads/forum-rules.2334636/

Tactics How to use the Chainsaw/Hunting Shotgun?

OiLime

Dec 10, 2011
Australia
Hello all, I have been playing Killing Floor for a good 8 months or so and I have been following these forums for a while and have finally decided to grab an account. I have used every weapon in the game [somewhat] effectively except for the damn Chainsaw and Hunting Shotgun. I just, have no idea how to use these weapons.

Using the chainsaw as zerker (mines freshly levelled to 4, just yesterday), I find;

- It's heavy in the inventory, weighs 8 blocks
- It's heavy in terms of movement speed, going against his other weapons
- It's difficult to use on the larger specimens such as scrakes or fleshpounds because you do not have the speed nor instant power that the other melee weapons possess
-It reduces his speed severely while pressing M1
- Not as effective for trash as the other melee weapons are

I just have no idea how to use it and what its' uses are. If it's for groups, the katana can do that just fine.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Using the Hunting Shotgun as support (also level 4), I find;

- It is very heavy at 10 blocks
- It doesn't do all that much damage compared to the pump or combat
- The only useful part is it's massive spike damage with the alt fire, but again, it is too powerful for medium zeds like husks, sirens and gorefasts which can easily be taken out with the combat/pump
- The alt fire isn't powerful enough to kill large zeds like scrakes and fleshpounds effectively
- Very expensive ammo

So forum, how do I use these weapons effectively? Thanks! :D

Well I don't know much about zerking cause I hate kiting and running around for 30 mins for 2 waves...anyways on to some support help.