• Please make sure you are familiar with the forum rules. You can find them here: https://forums.tripwireinteractive.com/index.php?threads/forum-rules.2334636/

What Instrument do you play?

I play the guitar and the flute. I've been playing flute for three years, made All-County once, had two excellents and one superior in the FBA competition; my orchestra as a whole made All-County and got straight Superiors and moved on to the MusicFest Orlando were we won Best Middle School; enough to say we were some of the best in the state. Unfortunately not the same in high school. It's a regular orchestra that sounds like a dieing cat. I haven't practiced all summer so I got extremely rusty, and haven't made any progress, I still know my 7 major scales and arpeggios so that's good. Not good enough in a class which also has Seniors and where I'm forced to sight-read Grade 5-6 music and then not even look at it the next day because our fickle Band director doesn't want to anymore. Then on the other extreme we play over simplistic crap such as instrumental arrangements of the vocals of Umbrella by Rihanna, not to mention that's an extremely terrible song to begin with. Then I have to sit some fat girl who thinks she's better at me even though she's not and thinks she can tell me what to do. I'm sorry if that turned into a rant but high school turned out to be an extremely bad twist for a once accomplished student musician. I might give up flute :'(

Also the guitar for a few months, entirely self taught. I can play Johnny B Goode, Wild Thing, Pretty Woman, and most of Stairway to Heaven. Learning to improvise and my goal is to sound like Eric Clapton and become a guitar god. I'm getting a Strat for my birthday so I won't have to practice electric guitar parts on a Spanish classical guitar. If anybody is any good with guitar, help me out and point me in the right direction.

Upvote 0