• Please make sure you are familiar with the forum rules. You can find them here: https://forums.tripwireinteractive.com/index.php?threads/forum-rules.2334636/

3D & Animation Static Models (Beginner)

Rospantern

Sep 25, 2014
Hi all.

I am a newcomer to the forum but a long time fan of RO1 & 2.
Lately I decided to learn how do model buildings or at least try to, so I thought it would be smart idea to sign up here and learn from those who already now how to model. I know that I wont learn everything over night but all feedback are appreciated.

I've looked around in several threads here on the forum and there are lots of good info and tips here.

I do have a question and hopefully someone can answer it :)

- When creating a static model such as a building what do I have to take in mind when creating it for RO2? Size, textures, collision and so on.

Since I'm a beginner I downloaded a Free modeling software called Blender.
For the moment I'm just playing around with it trying to learn how to use it, watching videos and reading tutorials.

My first creation, trying to model the Brandenburg Gate :)

Screenshot_1.png

Screenshot_2.png

Unreal Developers Network is a good place to start:

[url]http://udn.epicgames.com/Three/StaticMeshHome.html[/URL]

The LOD (level of detail) for meshes doesn't work terribly well in Blender if I remember right (been awhile). Best to import ASE files for each directly into the SDK's static mesh browser.

In addition to UV mapping, don't forget to make a lightmap and collision model for any static mesh you wish to import. For simple meshes, the SDK does a decent job of creating Lightmaps for you. Fot the "gate", I would suggest breaking the columns up as instaces (each one is the same mesh), or even as a group. If you don't make a collision model, you can always add Blocking Volumes, but if you intend to use the mesh multiple times a collision model is best.