• Please make sure you are familiar with the forum rules. You can find them here: https://forums.tripwireinteractive.com/index.php?threads/forum-rules.2334636/

Code Projectile penetration values

WhiskeyOscar

FNG / Fresh Meat
Aug 20, 2007
I'll admit that I'm completely new to scripting for the UT engine but I'm not completely stupid either. Here's the pitch;

I'm a member of the realism unit and we've been playing about with the penetration mods. Unfortunately, none of them allow you to specify a penetration amount per weapon. Basically, we had it at a point where the K98 could blast through a foot-thick wall and the SMGs couldn't even get through a door.

Would it be possible to code a simple (relatively!) mutator to allow the modification of penetration ratios for the different weapons at all? Could it be done with a single recreatable script (e.g. weapon1 penetrate = 10, and we can replicate that for weapon2 without changing lots of stuff - the idea is this mod needs to stay quite small too!)?

I'm pretty sure I can manage to compile and edit the script I'm just having a hard time getting off the ground and since I only know some Visual Basic (nooberiffic I know) it's a little hard for me to get this moving.

Thanks in advance for any replies - I'd love a chance to be able to set up the penetration values for each weapon properly so that we can make our game a little more interesting.

It's off topic reply, but are you sure a Kar98 couldn't pierce a foot thick wall ? :)

It was comparable (or stronger?) than today's "full strength" 7.62mm rifle bullets, like fired from M60 machinegun or M14 rifle. I think it would go trough a 1 foot brick wall leaving hole size of your fist... With an MG-34 or 42 you could easily cut a tree if you had ammo to spare, or demolish brick walls (and kill everybody on the other side, if it was only 1 of two bricks thick). 7.62mm+ MG is a terrible weapon. Stone wall or reinforced concrete is another story though...