• Please make sure you are familiar with the forum rules. You can find them here: https://forums.tripwireinteractive.com/index.php?threads/forum-rules.2334636/

Operation August Storm Mod idea

Artem

Grizzled Veteran
Feb 23, 2006
Hello all, Im a relatively experienced texture artist (rusty skills, havent done it in a LONG time). So far the only two real mods that have been started are the Afrika and the Italian mod which I personally do not feel like joining (I could only really put full effort into a mod that I personally wanted to play). Now this mod is not definitive yet, I want to see the response of the playerbase as well as if any modders would be commited to it. I need ATLEAST one coder and a modeller to be interested if we're going to get this off the ground. Any other modder interested can also join! Sound, Website designers etc. will be needed, so be sure to apply if you're interested. I also would like to see if there's actually any interest. I hope there will be as it incorporates not only USSR units, but also Japanese units. Finally I hope some of the new ideas I wish to incorporate (Morale, see below) sound interesting.

Operation August Storm. When the war in Europe ended, under the Tehran conference, USSR agreed to attack Japan. On August 8th they attack the Kwantung Army in Manchuria.

To summarize, it would be Japan and USSR. This will not only keep the aspect of Soviet forces in the game (which I find good) but it will also add the interesting aspect of the Japanese Imperial Army, which I believe has some interest here in our community. In maps, Japan will have inferior tanks however they will have more of them for balance. Some things I wish to add than are different from ROOST are:

Engineer Class (To deploy and remove Mines...if possible, later will be able to build obstacles. Possibly also be able to repair LIGHTLY damaged tanks, such as immobolized ones)
Anti Tank Mines (to replace Panzerfausts)
Possibly Anti-Personnel mines