• Please make sure you are familiar with the forum rules. You can find them here: https://forums.tripwireinteractive.com/index.php?threads/forum-rules.2334636/

Negative damage, are you using 2 byte ints?

So in pretty much every game I play as Sharpshooter, the after action report says I did negative damage with the Winchester. I always use it for all 10 waves, so at about 50 shots per wave, 100 damage per shot, over 10 waves, I would expect 50,000 damage. If you're using 2 byte ints to track total damage, they would wrap over into negative after 32,768 damage. Did I guess the root cause correctly? If so I wouldn't mind a mint condition rail gun skin as a reward :p

There are no short/halfword integers on the script side (only Int and Byte) and we don't use them in native either (usually). No skin for you.

Well I am both happy and sad to hear that. As a fellow software engineer I would have to give whoever thought that was a good idea a talking to :p I hope the negative damage reports are at least under investigation?

Upvote 0
They'll only become negative if they are signed, but I don't think that's the problem.

The damage delt to zeds is negative, since it lowers zeds hp and then when they want to display that damage first that comes to your mind is positive damage, but the number is actually negative that's turned into positive, they didn't make it positive so it shows as negative. This is just a guess tho and either it's too easy to fix so they don't bother (also it's unimportant) or it's not because of this.

Upvote 0
Well I am both happy and sad to hear that. As a fellow software engineer I would have to give whoever thought that was a good idea a talking to :p I hope the negative damage reports are at least under investigation?

Yeah, sure :)

Edit: If you want to have a look at the code, download the KF2 SDK. It comes with the entire Unreal script source.

Upvote 0
EphemeralMatchStats class, function InternalRecordWeaponDamage (string 440):

Code: