• Please make sure you are familiar with the forum rules. You can find them here: https://forums.tripwireinteractive.com/index.php?threads/forum-rules.2334636/

Tactics How to deal with long-range combat?

imnrk

Grizzled Veteran
Jul 9, 2015
Hi. I'm new to the series, but I have a pretty good understanding of objectives and teamwork, so I have that part covered. But what I'm still flailing around with is long-range combat. Give me an assault rifle or a shotgun and I can hold my own in tight spaces, but in open areas like ChuChi I'm completely helpless, even as marksman/sniper. My aim is bad, and I don't quite understand bullet drop/adjusting sights, but I feel like there's something else I'm missing.

I always end up either
A: getting shot before I know what happened, or
B: getting shot by someone that I try to shoot at and miss.

How exactly am I supposed to go about these kinds of scenarios? I see other players taking cover and taking occasional popshots, but when I try that I just get killed. Some help would be appreciated.

P.S. I love this game, I die a lot and get mad but other times I feel like an action hero. It's a fun game, just one I don't fully understand.

Reactions: dead_man
Well we cant really help you with your aim.

When it comes to having trouble adjusting the sights, I can recommend you are using the tactical display. It will show you the distance from you to certain objects and points. This includes things like ammo boxes, captures zones etc. It will literally show you the exact distance to it. You can use this for quick and easy range estimation of the area in which are your targets.