• Please make sure you are familiar with the forum rules. You can find them here: https://forums.tripwireinteractive.com/index.php?threads/forum-rules.2334636/

Tactics Hints&Tips for transitioning players

ynnub

Mar 13, 2006
HI! first of all, welcome to this fantastic game. since there is such a huge influx of new players here, most of whom play other games or have moved here from other games. when i started playing i had my share of issues and bad habits picked up from games i was playing prior to RO. games such as DOD, COD and the Battlefield franchise. so i thought i would write up a lil piece to hopefully help ease the transition to RO.

(sorry if something like this has been posted. i couldnt find anything ;))

-runspeed:

wtf!? ya you move very slowly. a lot slower than youre used to. are you really running slow though? or are you simply just moving way too fast in other games? at any rate the pace in RO is slower than most. this is where your transition begins. get used to it, load a map by yourself and cruise around, this is your new pace. try to match your actions with it.

-game pace:

again RO plays slower. everything from your actions, to respawn timers, capturing objectives. i was so used to the 100 mile an hour, no recoil, uber thompson spraying in cod that when i came to RO i just couldnt get around this. everything is slowed down to simulate realism. you cannot insta prone->scope->aim->headshot->bolt->re-aim. your actions in RO must be more planned and deliberate to be successful. there is no more instant transition between postures, scoping, bolting, reloading. all these things take time in real life, so they do in RO aswell.

the real trick to overcoming this one though is just slowing down in your mind too. just relax, find cover, line up your shots and plan ahead for the transitions. again, play alone to practice and 'learn' the timing between posture changes, rifle bolting, leaning etc.

-gameflow: