• Please make sure you are familiar with the forum rules. You can find them here: https://forums.tripwireinteractive.com/index.php?threads/forum-rules.2334636/

Developer Spotlight: Tom Weithers

Yoshiro

Senior Community Manager
Staff member
  • Oct 10, 2005
    East Coast
    66a8e1c0-af27-11e9-90be-55f8905ad372-tom.jpg

Developer: Tom Weithers

Title: Gameplay Programmer

For starters, could you provide a brief synopsis of who you are and what your role is with Killing Floor 2?

I am Tom Weithers and I am a gameplay programmer at Tripwire. Gameplay programmers take the cool ideas the designers have and turn them into something working in-game. Recently I've worked on Objective Mode, adding weapons like the Killerwatt, Helios Rifle, Hemoclobber, and a whole bunch of other fun things that I would get in trouble for mentioning now.

How long have you been employed at Tripwire?

About 9 months.

Take us through a typical day of work at Tripwire for you

Depending on where we are in development, my day will be either feature development or bug fixing.

If it's feature development, I look at designer documentation about that feature or talk to them directly about what they are looking for. Then I'll sit down and implement that. We tend to start with a rough pass and over time adjust the functionality based on playtesting. In the meantime, the artists do their magic and everything coalesces.

If it's bug fixing time, I'll start with a list of bugs compiled by QA and prioritized by production. Then I do a lot of digging through code to try to figure out the problem. Sometimes the problem is with a system made half a decade ago. And sometimes it's something I broke the day before.

How did you get started in the Games Industry?