• Please make sure you are familiar with the forum rules. You can find them here: https://forums.tripwireinteractive.com/index.php?threads/forum-rules.2334636/

A bunch of Design changes I'd make to improve the game ~ For KF2 (or KF3?)

xmrmeow

Grizzled Veteran
  • Mar 23, 2015
    I started playing in KF1, but I've easily racked up more than triple the hours in KF2. I usually play either Suicidal or HoE.
    I also love game design and have a strong understanding on how a lot of aspects of programming in games works, so I try not to suggest things that are totally unreasonable.

I think KF2's gunplay and enemy design are some of the best I've ever seen in any shooter. The guns feel great to use, and the enemies being so responsive to a variety of different types of hits in different locations makes them uniquely fun to fight against compared to other games where enemies have 1 hit box and their behavior is limited to "attack player until HP hits 0".

I love the game at its core, but its replayability could use some work, and certain aspects feel a bit sloppy at times.

Here are the main things I think could use improvement:
    • The game could use a more interesting game mode:
      The game mode in KF1 and KF2 is very barebones and leaves little room for variety. This hurts its replayability as playing on different maps essentially is limited to "is this an open or tight corridors map, and are there any good camping spots".

Basically, the only thing different maps offer for the most part are which perks are the most viable, and aesthetic differents.

I'd really like a new game mode that made the game more than just "find the best spot and kill the enemies". I think Left 4 Dead's game mode of "fight through enemies and obstacles to get to the checkpoints, with other randomized mechanics like equipment spawns and random/triggered hordes" would be a perfect fit.