• Please make sure you are familiar with the forum rules. You can find them here: https://forums.tripwireinteractive.com/index.php?threads/forum-rules.2334636/

Value of a Lee Enfield Jungle Carbine

Hanson

Grizzled Veteran
Jun 28, 2010
Bayou La Batre, Alabama
I was in the local pawn shop looking around for a new rifle, and I found an old Jungle Carbine, it is in pretty poor condition cosmetically, but seems mechanically sound. He's asking $449, but offered to sell it to me for $400. Now, I'm no professional, but the condition it's in, I won't pay over $350 for it due to the fact of what it's going to cost me to fix it up. What I'm trying to find out is, what is the rifle worth in its current condition, what are they selling for in moderate to good condition, and what could I flip it for if I dress it up?

The current condition of the rifle is as follows:
Buttstock: Moderately low, multiple dings, nicks, ect. No cracks/splits
Metal Work: Moderate, most blueing is there with some nicks, scratches, ect. Someone has painted the forward sight pin a bright orange.
Action: Everything operates smoothly, and is not damaged.
The worst part about this rifle is the forward sling mount ring is missing and has been replaced with a c-clamp.

It's almost certainly not a real jungle carbine. There were a bunch of companies that did conversions of NoIII and NoIV rifles into carbines, called them Jungle Carbines, but they really weren't.

If it says No 5 Mk 1 on it, and it was made at either Fazakerley or Birmingham Small Arms - Shirley ... then maybe it's real.

Does it have the flash suppressor? What about the bayonet?

Also, there's some modifications to the receiver vs NoIII and NoIV rifles - you can look up pictures online to see what they are.

What's the import mark say?

What's the max range setting on the sights?