• Please make sure you are familiar with the forum rules. You can find them here: https://forums.tripwireinteractive.com/index.php?threads/forum-rules.2334636/

Level Design Is there a way to convert old maps?

DXDOS

FNG / Fresh Meat
May 15, 2009
I done some research on this mod before I bought it.

I am very impressed with this work. But I have no experience at map creation because I never had any live tutors and help with maps. Even the tutorial documents and youtube videos are not useful. However, I am good at converting material to use in the matter of files, formats, and usable media for game purposes and more.

I noticed this was originally a "Unreal Tournament 2004 Editors Edition" packaged mod that took .ut2 maps but now they look like they been encrypted and put into .rom file extension.

Is there a way I can convert .ut2 maps to fit the new standards of your wonderful stand alone mod? And please no excuses for "oh its not possible, these are completely new map files types for their own reasons."

I know there is a way, this mod is not completely dependent on new source code. Maybe if its possible, there can be a program developed for the soul purpose of converting old .ut2 maps into your strange .rom maps.

Any feedback on this matter would be appreciated...
No wise cracks and insults will be tolerated!

You should be able to rename the .ut2 file to .rom. If you're having trouble loading it in the editor (crashing), then there's something you're going to need to strip out of the map before you'll be able to load it in the KF editor (usually this is something like a UT specific actor). Generally the GPF will spit out somewhere in its alien language box what it is that's crashing it. If it loads and you get the missing resources dialog box, it will tell you what packages you'll need to port over as well.

Upvote 0
hey i need some help with the ro editor

i would like to open an old map but i cant i always get an error but i dont know what to do

Code: