• Please make sure you are familiar with the forum rules. You can find them here: https://forums.tripwireinteractive.com/index.php?threads/forum-rules.2334636/

Level Design KF-Monastery (WIP)

Nenjin

Grizzled Veteran
Apr 30, 2009
Sub-Level 12
Hey all, this is my first real attempt at a KF map. I've never worked in the UTE before, but plenty of work in other games has served me well.

This map is not ready for download. I have a lot more work to do before I'm ready to release it. Here's a preview though.

The level will be huge. I'm considering finishing it and slicing it up into smaller chunks. I think the map might be a bit larger than any of the official KF maps.

Things I'm going for in this map-

Lots of atmosphere.
Convoluted internal routes, secret passages, one-way deadman drops.
Variety in looks and styles.
Lots of player movement. Compared to BioticsLab, I'm hoping this map forces players to constantly stay on the move, since traders will be an average of 100m+ away at any time.

Back to work.

Attachments

• kfmonastlevel1.jpg
    kfmonastlevel1.jpg
    99.7 KB · Views: 0
  • kfmonastlevel2.jpg
    kfmonastlevel2.jpg
    98.5 KB · Views: 0
  • kfmonast3.jpg
    kfmonast3.jpg
    99.6 KB · Views: 0
  • kfmonastlevel4.jpg
    kfmonastlevel4.jpg
    100.6 KB · Views: 0
  • kfmonastlevel5.jpg
    kfmonastlevel5.jpg
    98.8 KB · Views: 0
I did a timed run. From one trader on the East Side of the Monastery (near the Meditation Garden) to the one on the West side (in the graveyard) took over a full minute to reach running along the exterior. You *might* shave 15 seconds or so off of that taking the interior routes, but I haven't tested them yet. In total I think I'm going to have 7 traders for the map, give or take.

Upvote 0