• Please make sure you are familiar with the forum rules. You can find them here: https://forums.tripwireinteractive.com/index.php?threads/forum-rules.2334636/

Level Design Need Help With Pathnodes

Beatrice

FNG / Fresh Meat
May 20, 2009
Hey I am new to editing and I have everything working fine except for certain parts I am trying to make a path for the zombies. I made a vent like spot that the zombies are suppose to fall out of a hole in the roof but I can't seem to get them to go to the hole. The pathnodes wont let me have a path leading to the hole. Other then that one spot I can get the pathnodes working for other spots on my map.

Hi, I was having the exact same problem, so I'm really interested to hear other responses to this thread.

The solution I found, which sort of works, is to put a path node on either side of the hole. What I've found, is that most of the zombies will walk over and fall down. I have had problems though with zombies hesitating at the edge of the hole, unwilling to make the drop.

I hope this helps for the time being. There must be a better way to do this though.

Upvote 0
Try a) node away from the hole, jump point at the edge of the hole, and a path node (or zombiepathnode) at the destination point. Then turn on view path. Sometimes, depending on the angle, the path the AI would take from a jump point isn't always logical. In path view, if you don't see path line from the jump point to the bottom floor, they probably won't take it and will only fall by happenstance. Once you've got a destination node at the bottom, play with it's alignment, rebuild changed paths, and see where it has to be.