• Please make sure you are familiar with the forum rules. You can find them here: https://forums.tripwireinteractive.com/index.php?threads/forum-rules.2334636/

[Question] Really bogged down.

kirby34

Jun 3, 2006
As someone who has been playing RO on the same computer since late '06, I'm befuddled by my recent problems that started sometime last week.

I haven't installed or un-installed any hardware or software.
Neither my pings nor my FPS have changed dramatically.
I haven't changed any settings.
Heck, I haven't even played on any new maps.
None of the other games I play, whether online or offline, show any problems.

All that being said, no matter what map I'm playing or what server or what my ping is, the game has become extremely laggy/boggy and I can't figure out why.

Here's an example. I'll be playing an Orel map and my ping will be 100 and I'll be averaging 40-45 FPS (normal since the day I started playing). I'm in a tank and I'll press (and let go of) "a" to turn a bit to the left and the tank will react like I'm holding the button down as I end up doing nearly a 180-degree turn. Similarly, if I'm in the turret and I want to do a slight correction with the barrel, the turret turns way too far.

Before anyone thinks my keys are sticking, they aren't. Like I said, I don't have a problem in any other game or program. If I try to type stuff on the chat, the characters don't repeat, but they do appear a couple seconds after I type them.

While all this is going on, the actual gameplay is going at the usual speed - it's not like my computer is getting COMPLETELY bogged down to the point that the game also slows down or stutters. It's also not like there's a huge delay like normal lag - if I press a key or mouse button, the first action will occur at the normal speed, it's just that that action tends to continue long after the key or button is released.

This isn't happening EVERY time I press a key or button, but it's pretty darn close - probably 50-75%.