• Please make sure you are familiar with the forum rules. You can find them here: https://forums.tripwireinteractive.com/index.php?threads/forum-rules.2334636/

The War in Iraq, good or bad? speak your mind here!

Status
Not open for further replies.
DingBat said:
It's not WHAT you said. It's how you said it.

Your personal principles, whatever they may be, do not grant you the right to launch personal attacks in this forum. I hope this is clear. It's not your views, the same applies to everyone, including me.

Yes, it's clear. I myself am a moderator of a large internet-forum so I have plenty of experience dealing with issues like these and being in 'your shoes' so to speak. However I fail to see the personal attack that you speak of. If you are refering to my statements of sympathy regarding DU they were genuine, and my last paragraph comparing him to a member of the Iraqi insurgency is far from a personal attack in my book. I do realize that 'my book' is not the norm here, and I will adhere to the guidelines set up by the owners of the forum. I just want to make it clear that it wasn't written with the intention of functioning as personal attack. More of a hopefully thought-provoking (in contrast to just provoking) comparison.

These are two very different questions and I'm not sure how they relate. Perhaps you can illuminate me later.

1. No, I suspect that the US would not consider a shiite dominated Iraq to be a good thing. Puzzling, isn't it? The americans would seem to have been better off to leave Saddam in power to keep the shiites under control.

I never stated that they were directly related. I thought this was made obvious when I wrote "speaking of Iran". And to answer your question: Yes, it is puzzling, atleast for those that bought the official reasons for going to war since the dots does not connect. It warrants some suspicion as to what the U.S long term plan for their involvement in Iraq is really about.

2. Memory is a two edged sword.