• Please make sure you are familiar with the forum rules. You can find them here: https://forums.tripwireinteractive.com/index.php?threads/forum-rules.2334636/

My Humble Review

To give some background, I am 27 years old with a wife, a kid on the way in less than a month, going to work full time and going to school full time. I started playing computer games back in 1994 when Command HQ and Drakkhen filled most of my time. I eventually gravitated to Day of Defeat as the staple game I will always play. I have made the move to DoD: Source. BF2, EQ2, EVE, FFXI, Quake, Doom3 and other are all passing fads. DoD:S is something I have always returned to.

When I initially loaded Red Orchestra: Ostfront (RO) I didn't experience any issues ordering, pre-loading, and then unlocking. My hopes were high having seen the amazing trailer. And given my background, I was really hoping for a DoD type game set in my favorite historical events (WW2) with an amazing amount of detail. My complaint about DoD is that it is limited to a small map with fast tactics typical in the arcade arena. Game like Battlefield were so poorly implemented in my opinion because they failed to capture any notion of strategy, teamwork or realism. RO was my answer and I embraced its release with zeal.