• Please make sure you are familiar with the forum rules. You can find them here: https://forums.tripwireinteractive.com/index.php?threads/forum-rules.2334636/

An interesting insight into the issue of draw calls on the PC

M55ikael

Grizzled Veteran
Aug 11, 2011
While it's not directly related to RO2 it is related in the sense that draw calls have been identified as one of the CPU bottlenecks, which in turn resulted in "the whole Bay of Bricks thing".

Here's an interesting, and long, insight into the issue made by an ex employee of Codemasters who worked on Operation Flashpoint, a series that's now been put on ice with the studio closed down after poor sales.

It's slightly outdated, but the issues discussed are mostly as relevant today as they were when this was written:

In the office (my day job is a graphics programmer) we've been kicking around some thoughts and we've come to the conclusion that unless MS do something the next generation of consoles will, if not kill out right, leave PC gaming for anything outside of MMO, RTS, TBS and 'facebook games' on life support.

Right now the PC has a Mhz and GPU advantage however is suffers from moving hardware targets and a high draw call overhead. The former makes it a pain to dev for (I've spent the last couple of weeks now working around hardware/driver bugs for our game) and the latter we have to soak up and just deal with due to the single thread Mhz advantage PCs still have.

Jump forward 3 years which is when most people seem to think the next consoles will hit/have it; consoles will have more and FASTER cores (and with the Mhz race over PCs wont be out pacing them), DX11+ GPUs as standard and the ability to construct draw lists over multiple threads thus making submission/draw faster meaning more draw calls and more stuff on screen and looking better.