Tripwire Interactive Forums

Go Back   Tripwire Interactive Forums > Red Orchestra 2 / Rising Storm Forums > RO2/RS Modifications > General Modding Discussion > RO2/RS Final Mod Releases

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-24-2013, 02:21 PM
Ducky's Avatar
Ducky Ducky is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,658
Default [Mutator] SmartLoader (white-listed)

SmartLoader (white-listed)

Revision 18 - Released January 5, 2014

Introduction

This is a small mutator that will help preventing servers to go empty if a server admin needs to disable a mutator in the middle of a campaign.

The idea
If there are issues with a server and the server admin suspect that it's caused by one of the active mutators, then natiarally he want to turn it off. No problem so far except when his server is well populated. Turning off a mutator will mean restarting the map, though such an action might lead to an empty server. On a none campaign server it would be possible to restart the map without mutator during map change, but this option would be tricky for a campaign server (due to the map voting). This mutator is made to make switching off a mutator easier (or on).

What does SmartLoader do
SmartLoader actually doesn't do much. The only thing it does is looking at server session start which other mutator should be started and which shouldn't. For this it uses a by the mutator maintained mutator enabled/disabled list. The list is available on the web-admin and the server admin can disable (or enable) mutators to his liking. Then the next time a map loads, SmartLoader will load and start those mutators which were previously enabled by the server admin. This eliminates the need of a server/map restart to disable a problematic mutator.
Also will adding mutators to a server become easier. The server admin only needs to add ?Mutator=SmartLoader.SmartLoader to his command-line. All the other mutators only need to be present on the server (including their correctly filled in ini files) and SmartLoader will pick them up and make them selectable from out of SmartLoader's web-ui page. No more need to add other mutators to the command line.

Delayed starting of mutators
Some mutators can cause problems when directly started. For those a delayed start option is available. It's possible to configure per mutator if it should start with a delay or not. See below screen-shot for that.


Example of the mutator settings screen
ServerEx is enabled and will start directly. And dibbler67's Immersion Overhaul Mutator starting after a small delay.

Download

The mutator can be downloaded from this location:
SmartLoader-Rev18.zip

Installation instructions
  • Download the mutator from above location
  • Extract all files from the archive
  • Place the next files in your ROGame\Config folder on your server:
    • config\DefaulSmartLoader.ini
    • config\ROSmartLoader.ini
  • Place the next files in your ROGame\BrewedPCServer folder on your server:
    • BrewedPCServer\SmartLoader.u
    Note:
    If you have a redirect, then it's advised to also place the SmartLoader.u file on your redirect too. It will prevent ping spikes when players connect and the server needs to upload those files to the clients. Unlike with map files, the .u files should NOT be renamed to .upk
  • Restart your server (you need to do this or else the server will not find the mutator)

Activation

From server launch file (adviced)
  • Stop your server.
  • Open your servers launch batch file with a text editor.
  • Add ?Mutator=SmartLoader.SmartLoader to the map URL of the server start command-line.
  • If there are other mutators specified in the command-line, then remove them. You can select them again in the SmartLoader web-settings page.
  • Save the modified server launch batch file and close the text editor.
  • Start the server.
From web-admin Change Map page
  • Open your servers web-admin tool.
  • Go to the Change Map page.
  • Select your game type and map.
  • Tick the SmartLoader checkbox and un-tick all others. You can select them again in the SmartLoader web-settings page.
  • Change the map.

Compatibility note:
SmartLoader does not replace any vanilla RO2 class instance.

Source code:
The source code of this mutator can be downloaded from:
svn://62.163.53.115/SmartLoader/trunk/
An SVN client is required to download the sources (for example TortoiseSVN).
The files are password protected. If you want access to the sources, then please PM me and you will receive a reply with sign-in details.

Many thanks to:For arranging tests on his servers.
__________________

Last edited by Ducky; 05-14-2014 at 04:49 PM. Reason: typo
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-24-2013, 06:20 PM
ButchCassidy's Avatar
ButchCassidy ButchCassidy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: The Hole in the Wall
Posts: 3,540
Default

So you put in just one command line that contains this mutator and can run as many other mutators with this single mutator.

What a great idea..Has this been put in for whitelisting?
__________________
<a href=https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/54368035/TWIL/Signatures/TWIL%20heroes.png target=_blank>https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...L%20heroes.png</a>
www.twiladder.com
I'm on a vodka diet, I've lost 3 days so far.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-30-2013, 03:48 AM
Cat_in_da_Hat Cat_in_da_Hat is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,308
Default

Yet another great idea from Ducky.

Well done pal.

and ducky "reserved slots2" come on out with it, whats this one all about ?

Last edited by Cat_in_da_Hat; 10-30-2013 at 03:50 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-30-2013, 03:50 PM
Ducky's Avatar
Ducky Ducky is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,658
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cat_in_da_Hat View Post
--SNIP--
and ducky "reserved slots2" come on out with it, whats this one all about ?
Reserved slots 2 is/was just a test version of the original reserved slots mutator. Nothing more, nothing less.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-30-2013, 04:59 PM
r5cya's Avatar
r5cya r5cya is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: San Bruno, California
Posts: 6,046
Default

this is pretty neat! thanks, Ducky!
__________________
1 million fps Slow Motion video of bullet impacts made by Werner Mehl from Kurzzeit - YouTube

Support your custom mappers! Only play servers willing to run custom maps!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-13-2013, 04:40 PM
Jpz38 Hetzer's Avatar
Jpz38 Hetzer Jpz38 Hetzer is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,436
Default

Just bumping this to stop confusion with the In country thread.
__________________
Specs, Nvidia GTX 780 TI, 32gigs of Ram, AMD FX 8350 (8 cores) at 4.00 ghz Windows 7 64bit professional

Quote:
Originally Posted by PsychoPigeon View Post
Hetzer - the destroyer of imaginations
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-16-2013, 12:48 AM
Paulchen Panzer's Avatar
Paulchen Panzer Paulchen Panzer is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Hamburg
Posts: 249
Default

Any News?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-16-2013, 01:46 AM
Ducky's Avatar
Ducky Ducky is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,658
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paulchen Panzer View Post
Any News?
It didn't get white-listed
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-16-2013, 02:29 AM
dibbler67's Avatar
dibbler67 dibbler67 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 555
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ducky View Post
It didn't get white-listed
Blast, I just saw this. Do you suppose it might fix my loading-from-command-line issue? I still haven't cracked that one.
__________________

Gig 'Em Ags!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-16-2013, 06:06 AM
Ducky's Avatar
Ducky Ducky is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,658
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dibbler67 View Post
Blast, I just saw this. Do you suppose it might fix my loading-from-command-line issue? I still haven't cracked that one.
Hard to say. The not white-listed version is fully working. It won't hurt to try it out and see if it would solve your load from command line issue.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-04-2014, 08:01 AM
Ducky's Avatar
Ducky Ducky is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,658
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dibbler67 View Post
Blast, I just saw this. Do you suppose it might fix my loading-from-command-line issue? I still haven't cracked that one.
Did test it, but regretfully the server will still crash with this loop:
Code:
Log: MD5s: No result found - Skipping white list checks
I will see if it can be solved by adding a configurable mutator start delay.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-04-2014, 08:13 AM
Ducky's Avatar
Ducky Ducky is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,658
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ducky View Post
--SNIP--
I will see if it can be solved by adding a configurable mutator start delay.
And it works. You can find the server start (from command-line) logging in the spoiler:
Spoiler!


I will add it to the SmartLoader mutator and post the newer version. A delay of 0.1 second was already sufficient so I will not make it optional, but rather standard.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-06-2014, 09:28 AM
®omano's Avatar
®omano ®omano is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: France
Posts: 943
Default

Is there any reason for the non white listing? I dont really understand why they don't white list it :\.. Is it officially a NO or is it just a delay before answer?
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by PsychoPigeon
do not suggest $hit you do not know about
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-06-2014, 12:23 PM
Ducky's Avatar
Ducky Ducky is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,658
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ®omano View Post
Is there any reason for the non white listing? I dont really understand why they don't white list it :\.. Is it officially a NO or is it just a delay before answer?
I will resubmit it. Maybe it's just a case of misunderstanding, because they thought that this mutator did exactly the same as the mutator selection in the Change Map screen of the web-ui does.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-12-2014, 07:31 AM
Cat_in_da_Hat Cat_in_da_Hat is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,308
Default

Looking forward to using this mutator on the Aussie / NZ server. Great idea from a great mut dev.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-14-2014, 05:28 PM
ButchCassidy's Avatar
ButchCassidy ButchCassidy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: The Hole in the Wall
Posts: 3,540
Default

Any news on whitelisting this excellent mod?
__________________
<a href=https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/54368035/TWIL/Signatures/TWIL%20heroes.png target=_blank>https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...L%20heroes.png</a>
www.twiladder.com
I'm on a vodka diet, I've lost 3 days so far.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-24-2014, 02:38 AM
Cat_in_da_Hat Cat_in_da_Hat is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,308
Default

I noticed something a bit wonky with Smart Loader.

I have it installed on the main Aussie / NZ server but not activated.

I went to the Mutators area of the webadmin just to look at the settings and it seemed to have started and it kicked everyone on the server that didn't have it already installed.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-24-2014, 09:24 AM
Ducky's Avatar
Ducky Ducky is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,658
Default

It's not caused by SmartLoader but by UE3. Selecting the mutator settings of a none active mutator will cause the mutator settings object to be loaded at server side. As a result the same object load request is send to the clients. They probably do not have the object and thus get disconnected. Welcome to UE3.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-24-2014, 08:49 PM
Cat_in_da_Hat Cat_in_da_Hat is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,308
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ducky View Post
It's not caused by SmartLoader but by UE3. Selecting the mutator settings of a none active mutator will cause the mutator settings object to be loaded at server side. As a result the same object load request is send to the clients. They probably do not have the object and thus get disconnected. Welcome to UE3.
So lesson of the day - Dont even go near mutators that are not loaded.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-25-2014, 12:42 AM
Ducky's Avatar
Ducky Ducky is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,658
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cat_in_da_Hat View Post
So lesson of the day - Dont even go near mutators that are not loaded.
Yup. It would be nice if the web-admin would give a warning if you click one which isn't loaded. Something like:

Quote:
The mutator you selected is currently not loaded. Displaying the mutator's web page might cause players to be kicked from the server. Are you sure you want to load the settings page of this mutator?

[Yes] [No]
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2005 - 2014, Tripwire Interactive, LLC