Tripwire Interactive Forums

Go Back   Tripwire Interactive Forums > Killing Floor Forums > Technical Support > Killing Floor Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-26-2013, 09:16 AM
KanoTheMaster KanoTheMaster is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 14
Default Killing Floor OpenGL issues with Nvidia cards

I have got KF since it was available for Steam/Linux and there is still no update that fixes these bugs. I verified that the same issues are happening with the OpenGL renderer on Win or via Wine. As soon as a Nvidia card is detected some levels have got missing textures on the floor - directly visable with BioticsLab. As I have got more than one gfx card I noticed that stalkers look differently as well. As i wanted to know if it is a Nvidia driver bug i used apitrace found at:

https://github.com/apitrace/apitrace

and recorded the first seconds while starting BioticsLabs with my AMD HD 5670 and Nvidia GT 630 OEM. That generates of course a very huge trace files but you can playback those with any other card not only the one it was recorded. When it would be a driver error then somebody must think that when you playback the trace from the Nvidia card on an AMD one there should be no error and vice versa. But that did NOT happen. Instead my AMD card showed exacly the same bug while playing the trace from my Nvidia card and guess what: Nvidia had no rendering errors at all while playing the AMD trace.

This kind of test can be done by anybody who can read the apitrace instructions on how to compile/use a 32 bit binary. I am sure a Tripwire dev can do the same. My guess is that there is Nvidia specific code active then those cards are found. If I am correct then disabling those "optimizations" would be enough.

For the Linux build it would not hurt when the Direct 3D selection is removed and for the Windows build i would add OpenGL directly in the menu because in my latest benchmarks Intel HD 4000 was much faster using OpenGL. Changing the KillingFloor.ini is nothing for everybody as the OpenGL example is even removed when you change it once in the menu.

There is another thing that is different on Linux: you can not use the console while any menu is displayed - only after a level was loaded, thats a bit annoying and should be changed as well. Last thing: why is Highest default on Linux and High on Windows?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-09-2013, 09:39 AM
salamanderrake salamanderrake is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 10
Default

I agree, this is the actual issue that causes the supposed "missing textures" issue. I can load west london and while waiting for the round to be over I can fly over ans see the streets the way they should be but as soon as I spawn the road turns in the the "missing texture" bug.

http://cloud-2.steampowered.com/ugc/...07CFA5B083DD2/

http://cloud-2.steampowered.com/ugc/...24988ABF7E7C1/
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-09-2013, 06:37 PM
KanoTheMaster KanoTheMaster is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 14
Default

Yes, it happens in other levels as well like Factory. Another very stupid bug is that the telescopic sights do not always work. That makes the crossbow/m99 a bit useless when you see nothing or only very dark.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-24-2013, 02:00 PM
rahlskog rahlskog is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1
Default

This is a really good find. Maybe just disable the Nvidia detection and go with a more generic pipeline would already resolve most of the issues.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-28-2013, 12:29 PM
Broski270's Avatar
Broski270 Broski270 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 56
Default

It is really annoying that this has been a major issue since launch and TWI still hasn't fixed it. Its even more annoying for me cause this game runs terribly in WINE. Trust me I've tried everything. I've tried all versions of WINE in PlayonLinux and this game is unplayably choppy. There is also awful mouse lag with most WINE builds. Some people really need an OpenGL based native Linux version, but God forbid we've got Nvidia cards. Right now, TWI is reminding me of EA.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 - 2014, Tripwire Interactive, LLC