Tripwire Interactive Forums

Go Back   Tripwire Interactive Forums > Red Orchestra 2 / Rising Storm Forums > RO2/RS Modifications > Level Design > RO2/RS Beta Map Releases

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-04-2012, 03:56 PM
Spaehling's Avatar
Spaehling Spaehling is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 513
Default [Map] TE - Climb Up

Update: 24.04.2014
No further Updates planned

Some Infos:
Mapname: TE - Climb Up
Version: 1.351
Attackers: Allies
Defenders: Axis
External Info: www.spaehling.de
Target: Allies needs to cap the Hill / All Artys
Special Thanks to: |DD|Thor,|DD|Mad-Fred, |DD|GrimReality,|DD|-Team, Danh, 11_Harley_11 (Custom Trees),[ICV]Hansstar, [ICV]Wolverine (Custom Trees), [HS]Romano, Twrecks & Drecks = Twix, BoH-Rekrut, Srindhalaya, Catalavos, Greathero, Poncho and <AKA>Saftnase,<AKA>-Team, [RGN]-Team and Roccat for Mouse Support.
and the Forum Community!

done 1.351 Beta:
- rebrewed

Changelog History:
Spoiler!


Known Bugs:
- some Trench Shadows are ugly


Downloads:
Spoiler!


Screenshots:
Check out Steam Workshop

Videos:


greetz Spähling

Last edited by Spaehling; 05-08-2014 at 02:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-04-2012, 04:19 PM
Blitzk.-Bob Blitzk.-Bob is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,111
Default

Thank you!
Will this be available on the Steam-Workshop too?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-04-2012, 04:27 PM
Spaehling's Avatar
Spaehling Spaehling is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 513
Default

yeah it still is, but iam a bit confused with the steam workshop atm.

because the map file is 144mb in workshop and offline it is 201 mb. it isnt normal or?

edit: and did i need to upload the server file in steam workshop too?

Last edited by Spaehling; 11-04-2012 at 04:29 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-04-2012, 05:03 PM
peumobil's Avatar
peumobil peumobil is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chartres (France)
Posts: 606
Default

Hi,

Thank You
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-04-2012, 05:30 PM
Extension7's Avatar
Extension7 Extension7 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: East Coast USA
Posts: 1,766
Default

BE SURE not to put beta and version numbers in the file name! It will only mess up user files once you update it to another version! With workshop there is no need to have version numbers anymore :P
__________________
Formerly Extremity
Specs: 8GB RAM, GTX 460, i5-3570k
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-04-2012, 06:04 PM
Spaehling's Avatar
Spaehling Spaehling is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 513
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extremity View Post
BE SURE not to put beta and version numbers in the file name! It will only mess up user files once you update it to another version! With workshop there is no need to have version numbers anymore :P
yeah filename is still te-climbup. the number on the workshop is only in the title.

and for the gameplay of the map: i realized its to hard for allies to cap the first the areas. i'll change it!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-04-2012, 06:55 PM
Nezzer's Avatar
Nezzer Nezzer is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Porto Alegre, RS
Posts: 2,331
Default

Love the Stukas

And how does it work this Stuka thing? Called by the commander or like random environmental arty? Can their bombs kill people or is it just aesthetic? Do they always target the same spots?

Sorry for sounding annoying, but I'm really, really interested in this
__________________
http://forums.tripwireinteractive.com/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=22825&dateline=131155  0301
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-04-2012, 07:45 PM
Spaehling's Avatar
Spaehling Spaehling is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 513
Default

hey nezzer,

the stukas come down after a capzone (not all), if allies captured it. the positions are fixed at the moment, but i want to copy & paste some stukas and change the position a bit and put a random-trigger into kismet.

Like: 3 Planes came down, but 9 Planes exist. And every plane has a different random count. the timing is never the same.

Shrindhalaya told me to make a trigger for the commander. but iam still lazy to find my way through it. lots of other stuff to do

At the moment all Stukas you can see, are the plane i created. so my plan isnt finish yet.

and yeah they make damage to the player but the impact don't create and crater. i hope you can understand what i mean, my english isn't the best ^^
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-04-2012, 08:21 PM
GrimReality's Avatar
GrimReality GrimReality is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 242
Default

The map is VERY bright, almost neon bright (you'll notice it most when you look at the trees and other players or your own arms), if there's any way to tone it down a bit, you should definitely think about tweaking that.

Otherwise it looks great, and from what I've tested with you it should play great too! We need to get Thor to put it in the DD rotation
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-05-2012, 03:47 AM
Major_Day's Avatar
Major_Day Major_Day is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 2,648
Default

Played it for the first time last night with 20 bots (10 each) and Axis ran out of reinforcements after about 15 mins.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11-05-2012, 10:50 AM
Spaehling's Avatar
Spaehling Spaehling is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 513
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Major_Day View Post
Played it for the first time last night with 20 bots (10 each) and Axis ran out of reinforcements after about 15 mins.
yeah thats such things, we need to talk about. its my first map, so i dont have any feeling for the correct valvues.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-05-2012, 07:48 PM
r5cya's Avatar
r5cya r5cya is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: San Bruno, California
Posts: 6,046
Default

yeah. both times i played it, the axis ran out long before i could cap it all.

was there an undate today? i got more files downloading when i signed into RO2 a while ago. and after i got it, i got an ambiguous file message.
__________________
1 million fps Slow Motion video of bullet impacts made by Werner Mehl from Kurzzeit - YouTube

Support your custom mappers! Only play servers willing to run custom maps!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-06-2012, 12:05 AM
clambo's Avatar
clambo clambo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 411
Default

Just tried it - the Germans could use more guys.

The STUKAS were a big surprize!

pretty cool effect !
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-06-2012, 12:17 AM
r5cya's Avatar
r5cya r5cya is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: San Bruno, California
Posts: 6,046
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clambo View Post
Just tried it - the Germans could use more guys.

The STUKAS were a big surprize!

pretty cool effect !
did they get you? i love'em!
__________________
1 million fps Slow Motion video of bullet impacts made by Werner Mehl from Kurzzeit - YouTube

Support your custom mappers! Only play servers willing to run custom maps!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-06-2012, 03:11 AM
Major_Day's Avatar
Major_Day Major_Day is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 2,648
Default

This map is totally unsuitable for the tank,its just a sitting duck,and i see no use for it at all.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-06-2012, 12:52 PM
Spaehling's Avatar
Spaehling Spaehling is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 513
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Major_Day View Post
This map is totally unsuitable for the tank,its just a sitting duck,and i see no use for it at all.
yeah i was still at this point too. i think the arty is enough. and the map didnt look like i planned it at the beginning. so the tank isnt really usefull. i get it out next time.

@clambo
yeah the reinforcements fore the germans are still to low.

@all

i saw, that the bombs of the stukas dont go away after explosion and that the explosions comes more than onces. and i saw no damage. i need to check this out again.

Last edited by Spaehling; 11-06-2012 at 12:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-06-2012, 03:26 PM
Extension7's Avatar
Extension7 Extension7 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: East Coast USA
Posts: 1,766
Default

I tried this map bymyself today so I won't comment on difficulty or reinforcements just the style and things.

First of all, bravo! The map design is really unique and stylish at the same time I really like the push up a hill type maps, lots of trenches and cover, some higher up places too. And those stuka bombers and artillery pieces are amazing although the cues could use some work.

I'm not sure if this was intentional or not, but the Mamayev pillboxes still have those blizzard sounding winds in them, seemed sort of off. The caps seem to turn over really quickly with just one guy in it and that makes sense for the amount of defense and cover the Germans get. This map seems like it'll be a favorite for me with some more polish and optimization ^_^.

One more thing, will we ever be able to enter this building? :3
Spoiler!
__________________
Formerly Extremity
Specs: 8GB RAM, GTX 460, i5-3570k
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-06-2012, 06:15 PM
Spaehling's Avatar
Spaehling Spaehling is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 513
Default

hey,

first of all thanks man . to your last question. the building is a static mesh, that hasn't a inlife. i don't planned to make it walkable inside, because i looking forward to a new small map, before i start studying. But if i got enough time i think about it and some tunnels of course.

yeah i got these sounds inside of mamayew bunkers. i played only a bit with the sounds and the cues atm. and your're right the cues needs some rework. iam on to it
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11-06-2012, 09:37 PM
G_Sajer's Avatar
G_Sajer G_Sajer is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,764
Default



We'll probably get this map going tomorrow. I'm cobbling together an .ini file for it. My assmption is that it should be categorized as combined arms?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 11-07-2012, 03:56 AM
Major_Day's Avatar
Major_Day Major_Day is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 2,648
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by G_Sajer View Post


We'll probably get this map going tomorrow. I'm cobbling together an .ini file for it. My assmption is that it should be categorized as combined arms?
[TE-Climbup ROUIDataProvider_MapInfo]
MapName=TE-Climbup
FriendlyName=Climbup
GameType=ROGame.ROGameInfoTerritories
PreviewImageMarkup=
Description=
LoadMapMovie=
MapTips=
MapTips=
MapType16=ROMT_CombinedArms
MapType32=ROMT_CombinedArms
MapType64=ROMT_CombinedArms

[Climbup ROUIDataProvider_WorldInfo]
MapName=Climbup
FriendlyName=Climbup
PreviewImageMarkup=<Images:ui_textures.menus.HostG ame.ui_hostgame_mapselect_Gumrack>
Description=
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2005 - 2014, Tripwire Interactive, LLC