Tripwire Interactive Forums

Go Back   Tripwire Interactive Forums > Killing Floor Forums > Technical Support > Killing Floor Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-09-2012, 08:11 PM
AriesTR's Avatar
AriesTR AriesTR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 56
Default Suddenly high latency?

I've been playing for a while now, and suddenly I have been getting high lag spikes. This has NOT happened ONCE since I bought KF, until this past weekend.

The 3 servers I play regularly on, I have 90-115 ping.

Now I constantly run 100-150 ping. Often, it will spike to 300-500 ping for a few minutes, then go back down to 130ish.

All the time, this shows I have a good connection: www.imgur.com/cuhRL.jpg
Even when I have the immense lag in game, this doesn't change.

For a comparison: When someone else is downloading or streaming, the connection goes from 54/very good, down to 36/good (in game I have 200+ ping, but don't play at that time).


My general play time is 1 am until 5am, and I make sure no one else is downloading stuff (I can see via the ubiquiti controller).

Why am I have lagging like this in game?

Help please!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-09-2012, 08:32 PM
deckardblade deckardblade is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Chicago, US
Posts: 150
Default

That's just showing you have a good connection to your wireless router/access point, not necessarily a good connection to the internet.

A decent way to check your connection quality is to ping either the game server you're connecting to or a major website e.g. google.

You'd want to ping it continuously, so in command prompt type in "ping www.google.com -t" without the quotes. To stop this hit control-c.

If you're dropping packets that would be why your connection is spiking or at the least you'll see how severely if at all your ping fluctuates by doing this.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-09-2012, 08:43 PM
AriesTR's Avatar
AriesTR AriesTR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 56
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deckardblade View Post
You'd want to ping it continuously, so in command prompt type in "ping www.google.com -t" without the quotes. To stop this hit control-c.
I'm trying to ping the server: KillingFloor://173.236.78.109:7807

when when I: "ping KillingFloor://173.236.78.109:7807 -t"
it says I can't?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-09-2012, 08:52 PM
EpharGy EpharGy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,350
Default

ping 173.236.78.109 -t

should be fine

or maybe ping 173.236.78.109:7807 -t
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-09-2012, 08:58 PM
AriesTR's Avatar
AriesTR AriesTR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 56
Default

This is what I got: http://imgur.com/XStce.jpg


Why is it when I join that server, my ping is almost always 160+?

3 days ago I never got over 120

Last edited by AriesTR; 05-09-2012 at 09:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-09-2012, 09:11 PM
deckardblade deckardblade is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Chicago, US
Posts: 150
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AriesTR View Post
This is what I got: http://imgur.com/XStce.jpg


Why is it when I join that server, my ping is almost always 160+?

3 days ago I never got over 120
That I can't tell you, ironically that's one of the servers I host though.

I can tell you nothing has changed on the server for a few weeks.

For what it's worth:
Code:
Pinging 173.236.78.109 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 173.236.78.109: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=54
Reply from 173.236.78.109: bytes=32 time=13ms TTL=54
Reply from 173.236.78.109: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=54
Reply from 173.236.78.109: bytes=32 time=13ms TTL=54
Reply from 173.236.78.109: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=54
Reply from 173.236.78.109: bytes=32 time=15ms TTL=54
Reply from 173.236.78.109: bytes=32 time=11ms TTL=54
Reply from 173.236.78.109: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=54
Reply from 173.236.78.109: bytes=32 time=13ms TTL=54

Ping statistics for 173.236.78.109:
    Packets: Sent = 9, Received = 9, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 11ms, Maximum = 15ms, Average = 12ms
Despite that I normally have around 30-40 ping actually in game. Server is located in Chicago, I'm not sure where you're from though.

In retrospect I didn't look closely enough at your screenshot where you are spiking to 140 and 150 on occassion which would make getting 160 in game not that abnormal. Maybe reset your router or just make sure there's no one else using your connection heavily.

Last edited by deckardblade; 05-09-2012 at 09:13 PM. Reason: clarifying
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-09-2012, 09:19 PM
AriesTR's Avatar
AriesTR AriesTR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 56
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deckardblade View Post
I'm not sure where you're from though.

Maybe reset your router
I'm in the southern yukon.

As for the router, it hasn't been reset in forever, I'll do that soon.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-09-2012, 10:47 PM
Benjamin Benjamin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: France
Posts: 3,573
Default

Try speedtest.net and pingtest.net to test the speed and quality of your connection.

If you're using wireless I'd try using wired for a while and see if the problem goes away. It could be interference causing issues.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 - 2014, Tripwire Interactive, LLC