Tripwire Interactive Forums

Go Back   Tripwire Interactive Forums > Red Orchestra 2 / Rising Storm Forums > RO2/RS Modifications > Level Design > RO2/RS Beta Map Releases

Reply
Click here to go to the first Dev post in this thread.  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #241  
Old 03-29-2012, 02:42 AM
peumobil's Avatar
peumobil peumobil is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chartres (France)
Posts: 604
Default

report crash server
Attachment 9950

Attachment 9951

Last edited by peumobil; 12-24-2012 at 05:23 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #242  
Old 03-29-2012, 04:28 AM
Cat_in_da_Hat Cat_in_da_Hat is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,298
Default

Running ok on Aussie / NZ server except no radio.
Reply With Quote
  #243  
Old 03-29-2012, 08:21 AM
Mr Vain's Avatar
Mr Vain Mr Vain is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 107
Default

Will try it again this evening, last night server crash like peumobil.
Thx Drecks.
Regards.
__________________



Reply With Quote
  #244  
Old 03-29-2012, 08:23 AM
Drecks Drecks is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,386
Default

Yeah one server crash, other server works fine, next server crashes other works without radios, next server
runs it without problems. Story gets boring. Guess this project is doomed.

I noticed that I don't even take time to seek if the map is on a server.

Last edited by Drecks; 03-29-2012 at 08:27 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #245  
Old 03-29-2012, 08:33 AM
Cat_in_da_Hat Cat_in_da_Hat is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,298
Default

Ahhh who needs arty anyway. There were plenty of good RO1 maps that had no arty.
Reply With Quote
  #246  
Old 03-29-2012, 08:58 AM
Mike_Nomad Mike_Nomad is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 5,025
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cat_in_da_Hat View Post
Ahhh who needs arty anyway. There were plenty of good RO1 maps that had no arty.

Now yer talkin'! We play Coldsteel alla time and have a blast.
Reply With Quote
  #247  
Old 03-29-2012, 09:07 AM
peumobil's Avatar
peumobil peumobil is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chartres (France)
Posts: 604
Default

This UDK 20011 not seem well suited for a PC game. more for Xbox 360.
You do the best you can what is already well
Reply With Quote
  #248  
Old 03-29-2012, 09:10 AM
Drecks Drecks is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,386
Default

Its not only the absence of artillery radio's what spoils it for me.

The Wonky mantle/cover behaviour on these same servers is my biggest spoiler. In my opinion that takes away all the fun. It takes away the possibilities to use shortcuts and flanking.

And to put it simple the map is made with working mantling/covers in mind.
I did not put these things there cause i liked these red rightangled squares.

@ Cat in da Hat Your not gonna tell me the cover mantling works well on your server
but the radio's wont show ????

Last edited by Drecks; 03-29-2012 at 09:13 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #249  
Old 03-29-2012, 10:58 AM
peumobil's Avatar
peumobil peumobil is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chartres (France)
Posts: 604
Default

Coldsteel reinstall of FF is OK
reinstall Coldsteel TE (no radio etc.)
no crash
Reply With Quote
  #250  
Old 03-29-2012, 01:13 PM
Mike_Nomad Mike_Nomad is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 5,025
Default

FF works OK.
Reply With Quote
  Click here to go to the next developer post in this thread.   #251  
Old 03-29-2012, 01:28 PM
Yoshiro's Avatar
Yoshiro Yoshiro is offline
In Soviet Russia, Yoshiro is a cake
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 9,737
Default

We "think" we've isolated some "funny" kismet in coldsteel that may be the cause of the TE problems. We've contacted Drecks.
__________________

Pretty, what do we blow up first? - Myn Donos
Reply With Quote
  #252  
Old 03-29-2012, 01:49 PM
Mike_Nomad Mike_Nomad is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 5,025
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoshiro View Post
We "think" we've isolated some "funny" kismet in coldsteel that may be the cause of the TE problems. We've contacted Drecks.
Wunnerful.... just Wunnerful!!
Reply With Quote
  #253  
Old 03-29-2012, 03:09 PM
Drecks Drecks is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,386
Default

Yep I woke up from my nightshift preview nap and will rebuild this tommorow.
One have to remain handsome thats why I need these preview naps.

Meanwhile if this is the cause the FF version must work without any issues
So cover/mantle must work ok on servers with the TE problems.
At least thats what my grey matter logical thinking system tells me as it doesn't
have the "funny" Kismet thing.

Thanks

Last edited by Drecks; 03-29-2012 at 03:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #254  
Old 03-30-2012, 12:21 AM
Drecks Drecks is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,386
Default

I remember I added that "funny" Kismet together with the massive disable all spawns. This was close before the first release.
I noticed some spawns where still active when the level restarted after the first round ended.

I had a chat with xendance about this. And the massive disable spawn was added. I think together with the "funny" Kismet. This must have been before the very first release.

I will fix this,rebuild it in preview quality and then get it to a serveradmin who runs a server where the map have problems. Then we know if this solve the problem.

Still I doubt as I remember we had the no radio, wonky spawns on The Damned Priest server when we tested it before release. It was there we noticed that the spawn remains active and I added the massive disable all spawns.
Reply With Quote
  #255  
Old 03-30-2012, 01:25 AM
Cat_in_da_Hat Cat_in_da_Hat is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,298
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drecks View Post
Cat in da Hat Your not gonna tell me the cover mantling works well on your server
but the radio's wont show ????
Let me get back to you on that.

if you like PM me a spot where you know mantling is buggered and I will go check.
Reply With Quote
  #256  
Old 03-30-2012, 07:21 AM
Drecks Drecks is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,386
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cat_in_da_Hat View Post
Let me get back to you on that.

if you like PM me a spot where you know mantling is buggered and I will go check.
I only need to know how covers behave. On servers with that radio issue all covers behave weird. One will slide away from the cover or even get catapulted. Weird thing is the bot have no problems with the covers.

While on other servers all things including covers work well.
Reply With Quote
  #257  
Old 03-30-2012, 09:15 AM
Drecks Drecks is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,386
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoshiro View Post
We "think" we've isolated some "funny" kismet in coldsteel that may be the cause of the TE problems. We've contacted Drecks.
Did run a test on a server which had the mentioned issues.

I changed my "Funny" Kismet as suggested. So only only a pulse off of Level Reset. It did not solve the issues with the spawns and radios and covers.
Reply With Quote
  #258  
Old 03-30-2012, 10:04 AM
Cat_in_da_Hat Cat_in_da_Hat is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,298
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drecks View Post
I only need to know how covers behave.
Yep they behave badly on my server as well. Just dragged me across the map but I was able to bag a few germans during the trip !

Sorry i didnt spot them before. My game style has me rarely using them.
Reply With Quote
  #259  
Old 03-30-2012, 10:20 AM
Drecks Drecks is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,386
Default

Thanks.

Now at least we narrowed down something more.
Reply With Quote
  #260  
Old 04-19-2012, 11:13 AM
Drecks Drecks is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,386
Default

I didn't post for a while but with a possible solution for custom map worries in sight it might be usefull to show some updates for the Coldsteel map.

Decide to add the northern part of the Strippinghall to the battleground.
That part was kind of unused. So added another objective there.

So now once the Axis have taken that Deadly Alley they open up two objectives. The Strippinghall and the Distribution area 4



Now to open up the last objective Axis need to capture both of them. But the Strippinghall is the main target as Allies only can close down that last objective by recapture the Strippinghall.



As you can see I a manage to add these zoneareas on the overhead map.
So now its more easier for players to find the objective. (I still doubt for some of them).

All the areas visible


Some shots of the new added northern area.

From Axis side



From Allies side.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 - 2014, Tripwire Interactive, LLC