Tripwire Interactive Forums

Go Back   Tripwire Interactive Forums > Red Orchestra: Ostfront 41-45 Forums > Technical Support > Red Orchestra Support

Red Orchestra Support Having Trouble Getting Red Orchestra To Run Right? Go Here For Help

Reply
Click here to go to the first Dev post in this thread.  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-11-2006, 01:08 PM
Helmut_AUT Helmut_AUT is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 559
Default Great...now Steam won't let me play the damn game!

And people wonder why I hate Steam.

I got RO around April 1st when the boxed version arrived from my american friend. So, now it's about 11 days later, in which I regulary played the game.

But today, after booting up my home system, Steam tells me "The game is currently unavalable, please try again later".

Yeah, right. I got all the game files sitting here on my hard drive. I paid my damn 40 bucks for it. I have an american friend waiting to hop on a server with me.

But some damn piece of DRM software tells me I can't play now.

Great, thanks Steam. Thanks Valve. Thanks Tripwire.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-11-2006, 01:14 PM
Thorpy Thorpy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Manchester, England
Posts: 1,066
Default

Lol @ Valac.

Erm, it aint Tripwires fault i suppose
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-11-2006, 01:15 PM
Helmut_AUT Helmut_AUT is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 559
Default

You don't happen to have some customer support handy on why I can't launch the damn game, do you?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-11-2006, 01:23 PM
The_Countess The_Countess is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 785
Default

where did the sticky go with the fix for 'game currently unavailable'?

i cant find it anymore even with the search...
__________________

"guns dont kill people, people with guns kill people" : me
confucius says : rifle with scope is like bike with training wheels.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-11-2006, 01:27 PM
Helmut_AUT Helmut_AUT is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 559
Default

I looked into this sticky, and all it says is that you might have this problem when running with a limited user account in Windows, because steam loads a system driver. It's linked from the news on the front page of this website, and that was the first place I looked.

I have full administration rights on my maschine, so this fix does not apply.

Doesn't work in offline mode, either, BTW...just tried disabling my cable connection and loading the game that way, no dice.

So, is this the cool technical advantage Steam is supposed to offer? The fact that I can't get the damn game to start despite not having changed anything on my system all the last days?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-11-2006, 01:35 PM
Floyd Floyd is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Waterproof
Posts: 4,150
Default

http://www.redorchestragame.com/foru...ead.php?t=2924

This Game is currently unavailable. Please try again another time.
Fix 1 - process already run and needs to be "killed" first:
1. Quit Steam
2. Ctrl+Alt+Del -> Go to Processes (second tab) -> Find RedOrchestra.exe -> End process
3. Open Steam
4. Launch Red Orchestra
Fix 2 - Kerio Personal Firewall users:
1. Configuration > Network security > Find steam.exe and redorchestra.exe entries in the list and erase; choose ok
2. Manually create new entries for them or if you are using interactive mode wait for popup when restarting steam / roo
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-11-2006, 01:37 PM
[tR]Mad Mac [tR]Mad Mac is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 677
Default

Just restart steam.

edit: GG Floyd.
Reply With Quote
  This is the last developer post in this thread.   #8  
Old 04-11-2006, 01:41 PM
[TW]Ramm-Jaeger's Avatar
[TW]Ramm-Jaeger [TW]Ramm-Jaeger is offline
Tripwire Interactive President
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,853
Default

I moved this thread over to support where it belongs. Also, Steam related issues need to addressed through the Steam support channel. Essentially, if you don't see the RO splash screen, go to Steam for support. And please don't take this as we don't care if it is a Steam problem. Rather we are not experts on Steam, and Valve is, so they are better equipped to help you with issues stemming from Steam itself.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-11-2006, 01:46 PM
Helmut_AUT Helmut_AUT is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 559
Default

I already checked into their so-called "support channel" at steampowered.com.

Neither the FAQ nor the forum search over there answer my questions.

Basically this is the same system configuration as on Sunday evening, when I was playing with a friend. Then I shut down the system just fine, didn't boot it yesterday because I was out of my apartment all day, and today I booted - and RO won't launch anymore.

I do not have Zone Alarm.
I do not have Kerio Firewall.
I do have Admin Privileges on my maschine.

No process (neither Steam nor RO) are currently running.

I just told Steam to verify the game files - and when I then tried to launch RO, got a blue screen of dead with a message about ntfs.sys, which seems to be the NTFS File System driver. Thankfully it didn't kill my maschine outright.

I already restarted the PC a few times.

I also removed, tried without, and then added the -ro beta switch to my RO shortcut which I had used to load the beta patch (which was working without problems on Sunday).

All I see now is that, depending if I add the switch or not, Steam is updating RO, and then I get the message "Game unavalable".

But nothing in the official support FAQ helps me here.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-11-2006, 01:53 PM
Helmut_AUT Helmut_AUT is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 559
Default

Okay, for some unknown reason, it's now working again.

Basically I don't know why. I restarted my system a few times, verified the game files (thankfully the BSOD that followed did not destroy my windows system install), rebooted a few more times, and now it works again.

Sorry, but this STEAM software is bull****. I just wasted 40 minutes of my precious rare spare time to get a game to run on the SAME maschine with the SAME configuration where it ran flawless on sunday. All because some little monkey-like-stupid DRM application decided "No Helmut, you ain't gonna play for now".

So basically now I know that RO is a not a stable application avalable to me when I want to play, rather I'm at the mercy of an extensive server network administrated by Valve who will decide, on a whim, if I may or may not enjoy the software I paid for.

If I could RO would go back for a refund now.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-11-2006, 02:04 PM
The_Countess The_Countess is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 785
Default

you got a BSOD after verifying your files?

then im sorry but im going to have to question the stability of your machine.
i havent had any BSOD's with steam, not even after verifying files. nor has the game ever been unavailable to me, or most others for that matter.

getting a random BSOD usualy means there is a serious issue, specialy if its during or right after your computer having to do hard work (like verifying file integrity)

are you overclocked, and if so have you tested that overclock with a programe like prime95 or at the verry least memtest?
the fackt windows boots is by no means a indication that your OC is stable.

other then that update system/chipset drivers.
__________________

"guns dont kill people, people with guns kill people" : me
confucius says : rifle with scope is like bike with training wheels.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-11-2006, 02:12 PM
Helmut_AUT Helmut_AUT is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 559
Default

This is a stable and basically "new" maschine - delivered to me on 23th December, built with hand-picked components from the same retailer who builds the maschines for the 50 user network I'm administrating. This is not a walmart system, but a professional box.

Since then, all I did was to add some software (just about 6 games and 5 or 6 webdesign/programming tools) and that's it. Oh, I defraged once. There's no software firewall, no spyware, no adware, no virus scanner.

I've earned my money in the IT business fixing computer errors now for over 5 years, on everthing from Win95 to Server2003. I know my systems in and out.

And no, it isn't overclocked. Neither the CPU nor the Card.

The only thing I can assume is that the steamdrv.sys or whatever it's called, which is loaded to access the .gcf file structure, somehow interfered with the file system driver for NTFS.

Whatever the cause of the BSOD, the first "Game unavalable" shouldn't even have happened. I booted into the absolutly same configuration I ran on sunday when the game worked.

Basically this just tells me Steam is not a stable way to play this game. There is absolutly no reason why it should fail without me changing anything on my system and then suddenly it works again for no reason at all.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-11-2006, 02:24 PM
Hptmn.Krueger[TRO/29.PzG] Hptmn.Krueger[TRO/29.PzG] is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 94
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Helmut_AUT
This is a stable and basically "new" maschine - delivered to me on 23th December, built with hand-picked components from the same retailer who builds the maschines for the 50 user network I'm administrating. This is not a walmart system, but a professional box.
Not to hit up your post here with critisizm... but just because this person(s) made machines for a 50 user network you admin, means that they can't have made some type of mistake? We're all human... human error could come into play here.

I personally, have had ZERO issues with Steam. I've been using it since HL2 days when I bought the Silver Pack, so I've played all sorts of games and had no problems at all.

Steam is about as stable as it needs to be. If you are having issues this is what I suggest you look at first:

-Operator error
-Equipment error (computer)
-Network error (forst at your computer then at the source by phone call)
-Program error (Steam)

People like to (not saying this is what you're doing, it's what I've seen on these forums)... blame the easiest way out, and that's Steam (or even the Tripwire Staff... not as often though). There's no Steam rep here to defend themselves, and it's a program. So people think, error = program fault. Sometimes it REALLY is more than meets the eye.
__________________
Armoured infantry, forwards, towards victory!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-11-2006, 04:06 PM
Helmut_AUT Helmut_AUT is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 559
Default

Krueger...

First, no simple hardware error can simple explain why Steam suddenly says "Game unavalable", which is a Software Error Message. A hardware error may explain the BSOD, but since this is the first one I got since buying the maschine, I think I would have more BSODs if the RAM or the Motherboard, for example, was faulty.

Operator error is right out, because the "operator" (me) didn't change a thing since the last time the game ran without problems. I had more than week of regular, stable game time with RO:OST, and I haven't changed settings at all. So any sudden "unavalability" of the STEAM application points towards a problem with the steam server, not to a bad user mistake.

Network error - yes, perhabs, but I run a hardware router that hasn't changed config either, everthing else worked (email, www etc.) so why should I assume a network error.

So what's left? Steam client. If anything else remains the same like the last working configuration, then it's fairly safe to assume the error is not on my end. It is not very assuring to know that a game I paid good money for can be "unavalable" from one day to the next, just like that. Without this useless steam application the possible causes of the problem could be traced down to my own maschine, but not with an application that works trough the internet. The error potential of such a thing is much bigger.

I wish I could read those steam-output logs, they would explain what happened. But yeah, they are encrypted so...bad luck I guess.

Last edited by Helmut_AUT; 04-11-2006 at 04:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-11-2006, 04:12 PM
Witzig Witzig is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,189
Default

I usually get the game unavaible Message every time i try to start Ostfront, but i just have to close Steam, shut down Redorchestra.exe (or .ex), and start Steam again and am able to play...
__________________
Steam-Name: Tank-Boy-Ken
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-11-2006, 04:24 PM
Helmut_AUT Helmut_AUT is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 559
Default

Great...

Now the error has returned.

After playing for a while online, I decided to test it out, restart my PC, and next time windows loads I get the same damn error again.

Closing redorchestra.exe and starting steam again worked this time. But not the last time. This is more than annoying.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-11-2006, 04:46 PM
Demogorgon's Avatar
Demogorgon Demogorgon is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 369
Default

i had this problem last night. found a post by yoshiro saying to go into steam, click file, change user, then log back in, and guess what? it worked! so try that....

ooops looking back i think the error i was having is 'incompatible version' error, sorry guys my bad.
__________________
win7 64, amd phenom ii x4 955 black ed. @ 3.2ghz, gtx 460 se, 8gb ddr3, logitech g35
http://forums.tripwireinteractive.com/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=468&dateline=13123211  02
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-11-2006, 05:05 PM
Butters Butters is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Windsor, Ontario
Posts: 106
Default

Have you tried submitting an incident report? Steam will fix your problem, unless its your fault its messed up. Or email steam @
steamsupport@support.steampowered.com they can help you out that way too
__________________
Its not about dieing for your country. Its about making the enemy die for thiers.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-11-2006, 05:16 PM
Helmut_AUT Helmut_AUT is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 559
Default

Thanks for trying to help.

I went to the steampowered.com forums and tried to sign up there, but it needs "activation by a moderator". Where do I submit an incident report? A function of Steam itself?

Also, when I use STEAM to click "technical support" the default FAQ pages pops up, but I can't find the "ask a question" tab. I guess that's only for registered users. How idiotic is that. Technical Support needs to be fast and painless, not about making your customers jump trough as many hoops as possible before they can ask a direct question.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-11-2006, 05:23 PM
UK-SUBS UK-SUBS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 31
Default

Happened to me too,lastnight.Game unavailable...i turned off the auto update feature and removed the shortcut for the beta patch.Then it worked ok.Maybe just luck.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 - 2014, Tripwire Interactive, LLC