• Please make sure you are familiar with the forum rules. You can find them here: https://forums.tripwireinteractive.com/index.php?threads/forum-rules.2334636/

How far can you see Muzzle Flash?

Srinidhalaya

Grizzled Veteran
Jan 20, 2011
Last edited:
Facing the German MG-42 Machine Gun! - YouTube

mp40 - YouTube

There is no visible muzzle flash in either of the above videos.

Now I am not a firearm expert by any stretch of the imagination, but the muzzle flash did look out of place and was one of the few issues I had with the beta footage - I think a small puff of smoke would be much more realistic than any kind of muzzle flash, save perhaps the nighttime maps.

But maybe I'm way off - someone please correct me if I'm wrong.

Last edited:
Upvote 0
The devs stated several times that it is hard to capture the muzzle flash of a weapon on video due to that fact that it is there only for a very short time, often being visible for less time than the camera needs to take two individual frames of the video. This is the reason why YouTube videos are no good source of information concerning muzzle flashes.

Upvote 0
There is no visible muzzle flash in either of the above videos.

Now I am not a firearm expert by any stretch of the imagination, but the muzzle flash did look out of place and was one of the few issues I had with the beta footage - I think a small puff of smoke would be much more realistic than any kind of muzzle flash, save perhaps the nighttime maps.

But maybe I'm way off - someone please correct me if I'm wrong.

Youtube videos are a bad example, muzzle flash is a quick event and the frames of the video with the flash could be easily missing because of the poor quality.

Maybe not explaining it right lol but it's like this..

A Floating Helicopter - YouTube

It looks like it's floating because that position of the rotor matches FPS of the video.

Upvote 0