Tripwire Interactive Forums

Go Back   Tripwire Interactive Forums > Red Orchestra 2 / Rising Storm Forums > Technical Support > Dedicated Server Support

Reply
Click here to go to the first Dev post in this thread.  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  Click here to go to the next developer post in this thread.   #1  
Old 08-30-2011, 12:43 AM
[TW]Ramm-Jaeger's Avatar
[TW]Ramm-Jaeger [TW]Ramm-Jaeger is offline
Tripwire Interactive President
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,868
Default RO2 Server Config Files and more setup info

Everyone,

Right now things are looking pretty good for our launch of the RO2 Pre-purchase beta tomorrow August 30th. There are a few things of note I thought I should mention or would be useful for you.

1) Server Files Update

There will be an update to the server files in the morning with what shoudl be the final pre-purchase beta files. So servers will need to be updated before the launch. Additionally, the final files only contain a subset of the maps. Please note, if a server has any other maps added in it's map cycle it will crash when the server cycles to that map. So please ensure that you only include these maps. Note: if in doubt, use one of my attached configs as they are set up with proper map cycles.

FF-Apartments
TE-Apartments
CD-Apartments

TE-FallenFighters
CD-FallenFighters

TE-Gumrak
CD-Gumrak

Note: FF = Firefight (a variation of team deathmatch), CD = Countdown (our take on an intense "single life" gametype), and TE = Territory (an enhanced and expanded version of the gametype in the original RO).

2) Server Configuration

I have created and attached a set of game config files set up in different ways to use for reference (or just plain use) based on how you want to set your servers up. To use these configs you can either just rename the config file you want to use to ROGame.ini and replace your existing file, or you can replace the following sections in your own ROGame.ini file:

[ROGame.ROGameInfo]
[ROGame.ROGameInfoFirefight]
[ROGame.ROGameInfoTerritories]
[ROGame.ROGameInfoCountdown]

Note, if you just copy these sections, make sure and get all of the values in that section and put them in your ini.

Let me explain the different configurations:
ROGame_BaseStandard: Standard (non-hardcore) setup with all maps cycling through
ROGame_BaseRealism: Realism Mode(hardcore) setup with all maps cycling through
ROGame_FireFightOnly_Standard: Standard (non-hardcore) setup with only FireFight game-type maps cycling through
ROGame_InfantryOnly_Realism: Realism Mode(hardcore) setup with only infantry maps cycling through
ROGame_InfantryOnly_Standard: Standard (non-hardcore) setup with only infantry maps cycling through
ROGame_Tanks_Only_Realism: Realism Mode(hardcore) setup with only tank maps cycling through
ROGame_TanksOnly_Standard: Standard (non-hardcore) setup with only tank maps cycling through

3) Final server setup notes

When testing the server on Windows Server 2008 R2, we discovered that when the CPU usage got close to peaking, that windows would start pushing the game around between cores. This actually made the game perform badly under heavy CPU load. To combat this we highly suggest you a commandline switch we created which will set the main game thread's affinity to a specified core, especially if you are going to have the game server running at a slot count on a machine where it might come close to peaking the CPU. Here is the commandline switch:

-PREFERPROCESSOR=x (where x=0,1,2, ...)

So for example:
-PREFERPROCESSOR=0
Would set the game thread's affinity to the first core.

Enabling Valve Anti Cheat (VAC) - VAC was not enabled by default in the first server install we put up, but will be turned on by default in the update we put up tomorrow morning. So if you have already set up ini files for the game please modify this section in ROEngine.ini:

[OnlineSubsystemSteamworks.OnlineSubsystemSteamwork s]
bUseVAC=true

It is highly recommended that you do this to help catch/prevent cheating on your servers.
Attached Files
File Type: txt ROGame_BaseRealism.txt (15.6 KB, 701 views)
File Type: txt ROGame_BaseStandard.txt (15.6 KB, 235 views)
File Type: txt ROGame_FireFightOnly_Standard.txt (15.5 KB, 190 views)
File Type: txt ROGame_InfantryOnly_Realism.txt (15.5 KB, 297 views)
File Type: txt ROGame_InfantryOnly_Standard.txt (15.5 KB, 121 views)
Reply With Quote
  Click here to go to the next developer post in this thread.   #2  
Old 08-30-2011, 12:44 AM
[TW]Ramm-Jaeger's Avatar
[TW]Ramm-Jaeger [TW]Ramm-Jaeger is offline
Tripwire Interactive President
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,868
Default

Additional ini configs
Attached Files
File Type: txt ROGame_Tanks_Only_Realism.txt (15.5 KB, 148 views)
File Type: txt ROGame_TanksOnly_Standard.txt (15.5 KB, 99 views)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-30-2011, 12:48 AM
8SS.Steiner's Avatar
8SS.Steiner 8SS.Steiner is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 111
Default

Thanks much, do you have a time for that update other then "in the morning" :P
__________________
Leutnant Steiner,
Jäg.Rgt. 228/101. Jäger-Division
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-30-2011, 12:52 AM
10-78 BusterKing 10-78 BusterKing is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 468
Default

Do you intend on having more then just 3 maps eventually? 3 is kind of thin.
Reply With Quote
  This is the last developer post in this thread.   #5  
Old 08-30-2011, 12:54 AM
[TW]Ramm-Jaeger's Avatar
[TW]Ramm-Jaeger [TW]Ramm-Jaeger is offline
Tripwire Interactive President
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,868
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 10-78 BusterKing View Post
Do you intend on having more then just 3 maps eventually? 3 is kind of thin.
BF3 Alpha had 1 And its 3 maps and 3 gametypes so its actually 7 or 8 maps.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-30-2011, 12:57 AM
10-78 BusterKing 10-78 BusterKing is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 468
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by [TW]Ramm-Jaeger View Post
BF3 Alpha had 1 And its 3 maps and 3 gametypes so its actually 7 or 8 maps.
But don't forget John with all due respect, they already paid for the full version of the game.

I personally think it won't be showing how nice the maps can be by not showing more of them.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-30-2011, 01:02 AM
Ceraetes Ceraetes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 38
Default

The maps will rotate during the beta, so we start with 3 but might have 3 others maps the week after.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-30-2011, 01:03 AM
10-78 BusterKing 10-78 BusterKing is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 468
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ceraetes View Post
The maps will rotate during the beta, so we start with 3 but might have 3 others maps the week after.
Really? I missed reading that info. Where is that info anyways?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-30-2011, 01:05 AM
Ceraetes Ceraetes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 38
Default

http://forums.tripwireinteractive.co...ad.php?t=57434

Where he talks about the maps.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-30-2011, 01:13 AM
10-78 BusterKing 10-78 BusterKing is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 468
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ceraetes View Post
He states "and may be cycling other maps in/out throughout the beta".

3 other maps is not mentioned but lets hope.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-30-2011, 01:15 AM
Ceraetes Ceraetes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 38
Default

I know, it was just an example when I said 3 others maps. Just wanted to point out that they might change the maps during the beta.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-30-2011, 05:37 AM
gioccher gioccher is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by [TW]Ramm-Jaeger View Post
Additional ini configs
how can ROGame_TanksOnly_Standard.txt differ from ROGame_BaseStandard.txt only for the mapcycle?

GameMapCycles=(Maps=("TE-Gumrak"),RoundLimits=(0))
vs
GameMapCycles=(Maps=("TE-Apartments","CD-FallenFighters","FF-Apartments","TE-Gumrak","CD-Apartments","TE-FallenFighters","CD-Gumrak"),RoundLimits=(0,0,0,0,0,0,0))
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-30-2011, 05:44 AM
Zetsumei's Avatar
Zetsumei Zetsumei is offline
Anti-Matter Games
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Falmouth UK
Posts: 12,457
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gioccher View Post
how can ROGame_TanksOnly_Standard.txt differ from ROGame_BaseStandard.txt only for the mapcycle?

GameMapCycles=(Maps=("TE-Gumrak"),RoundLimits=(0))
vs
GameMapCycles=(Maps=("TE-Apartments","CD-FallenFighters","FF-Apartments","TE-Gumrak","CD-Apartments","TE-FallenFighters","CD-Gumrak"),RoundLimits=(0,0,0,0,0,0,0))
They are both standard servers with as the name proclaims a difference in the maps. One is tank only, one is standard.

Its just to make life a tad easier requiring you to setup less.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-30-2011, 06:31 AM
koolkav1 koolkav1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 7
Default

Dont you want the game to run on more than 1 core, eg if i have a i5750 server, i cant run a 64 slot server on 1 core, i would need to allocate 2 cores for that. do i need to change the command line or its automatic?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-30-2011, 06:57 AM
Malteserr's Avatar
Malteserr Malteserr is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Malta
Posts: 145
Default

Dear Ramm, just a small correction:

Quote:
Originally Posted by [TW]Ramm-Jaeger View Post
[OnlineSubsystemSteamworks.OnlineSubsystemSteamwork s]
bUseVAC=true
This entry only exists in ROEngine.ini not in ROGame.ini as you said in your post. Is this correct?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-30-2011, 07:12 AM
teemu92's Avatar
teemu92 teemu92 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Finland
Posts: 984
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 10-78 BusterKing View Post
But don't forget John with all due respect, they already paid for the full version of the game.

I personally think it won't be showing how nice the maps can be by not showing more of them.
Dude, we already have paid for the full game too? i dont know what you're trying to say.
__________________
Hello
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-30-2011, 07:28 AM
gioccher gioccher is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetsumei View Post
They are both standard servers with as the name proclaims a difference in the maps. One is tank only, one is standard.

Its just to make life a tad easier requiring you to setup less.
thanks, I don't know why I was assuming that you could choose to enable/disable tank/infantry only for each map
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-30-2011, 08:22 AM
Zetsumei's Avatar
Zetsumei Zetsumei is offline
Anti-Matter Games
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Falmouth UK
Posts: 12,457
Default

loads of things can be changed, these are just presets you can logically tweak things from the ini or webadmin to your hearts content.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 08-30-2011, 07:24 PM
Kinsman Kinsman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 114
Default

Hi, I'm in Australia so if I downloaded the files about an hour prior to this post (7:30AM AEST) do I have the latest ones, or will I need to update them?

I'm interested in assigning more than one core too if thats possible?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 08-31-2011, 04:18 PM
zuff's Avatar
zuff zuff is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 16
Default

Can this be stickied? I have to search for this thread every time I change my server config and it should definitely be stickied.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2005 - 2014, Tripwire Interactive, LLC