Tripwire Interactive Forums

Go Back   Tripwire Interactive Forums > Killing Floor Forums > Killing Floor Modifications > General Modding Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-05-2011, 07:43 AM
Marco Marco is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Finland
Posts: 530
Default [Mod] Specimen versus

Name
Specimen versus modification
Version
1.5
Compatibility
This mod does not work with any custom specimen yet (other from Doom 2 ones). Nor it does not work with my standard ServerPerks modification, however you can download ServerPerks add-on mutator from below which works just fine.
Description
This modification started as a fix from BlackCheetah's mod but eventually led to I had to rewrite everything from scratch.
You can run this mod in 2 different modes (you can toggle this on WebAdmin under Defaults > Server > Full VS mode):

1: Team vs mode, players may join the blue (specimen's) team and take control of any specimen in the level they like (except for Patriarch).
2: There are no teams, dead players can simply take control of specimen in wave and either aid or fight against them.

Players on "specimen team" are like spectators but can see players through walls as red dots and specimen as green, to take control of the specimen simply aim at them and tap [Fire].
As a specimen you have a night vision and see players through walls as red dots (yay for wallhacking).
Several of the specimen have a primary fire mode (melee attacks) and an alternative fire mode (special moves), some of them even have a charge meter which can be time based or damage based which controls the use of special moves.
Credits
TheBlackCheetah for the original mod idea.
WPC clan, Lethal_Vortex and XJ5 for beta testing.
Download
KFMonsterVS (v 1.5) - Main files needed to run this mod:
You can run this game from game selection menu by selecting "Team VS KF" or launching server with URL ?Game=KFMonsterVS.VSGame.

ServerPerks add-on (v 1.5) - ServerPerks fix to run with this game mode (and this game mode only, do not run this mutator with any other game modes!). Do not run standard ServerPerks mutator together with this one, only "Server Vet Handler VS Fix" (or VSServerPerksMut.VSSPerksMut in URL line).

Version history
v1.5:
- Changed all specimen players to show their view over the head as behindview, to give you a better clue what animation you are playing.
- Fixed a bug where AI specimen would deal double damage.
- Modified FleshPound players automatically rage from having a player in line of sight.
- Added hit sounds so that you know that you actually managed to hit players as a specimen (indicated by *Donk* sound).
- Made Patriarch a playable character (you can disable this from KFMonsterVS.ini, and delete line "PossessablePawns=AwesomePat").
- Made Husk and Patriarch have a crosshair when you play as them.
- Fixed movement animations for Crawler players when walking on walls.
- Made Crawler players non-solid so that you don't get their strange Engine physics error where you make an ultra high jump from walking into another pawn.
- Made so that you can have more than 6 max players.
- Made specimen vision player location indicators fade between colors to show players health (100 HP = green, 75 HP = yellow, 25 HP = red), so that you know which one to attack first.
v1.0:
- Initial release.

Last edited by Marco; 06-25-2013 at 11:55 AM. Reason: Update to version 1.5
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-05-2011, 08:43 AM
GeneticArmor GeneticArmor is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sweden, Södertälje
Posts: 224
Default

Great mod! The server perks seem to mix up the ESC menu though, so the "Switch Team" button disappears.

Or maybe I'm doing something wrong? I'm running these two mutators, the Patriarch HP left mutator, and the Antiblocker 1.1.

EDIT: just tested without the other mutators, still the same issue.

Last edited by GeneticArmor; 07-05-2011 at 08:49 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-05-2011, 08:44 AM
Freshmeat Freshmeat is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 278
Default

YESSSS!



I have been waiting for something like this ever since Specimination crashed our server four times in and our and we abandoned it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-05-2011, 11:44 AM
FluX FluX is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 4,913
Default

Marco you have outdone yourself once again! My community has always wanted a more improved version of the beta mod that was already out (seriously there was a HUGE amount of bugs) but it was playable to have fun against each other. Now your system is going to be much much better as (if I read rightly) it will be a normal game but allow you to take control of the zed you are viewing?

I can tell you this is one gametype that will go far within KF.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-05-2011, 02:14 PM
botskiller16 botskiller16 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 40
Default

Marco, awesome work! Please, can you make a better KF Bots mutator? please
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-05-2011, 02:49 PM
sheaownsaford sheaownsaford is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 88
Default

I copy/pasted both of your provided downloads into my system file and only the perk one shows up in my mutator list.. There's no mutator showing for the VS mode.

I guess this comes down to me asking how to make a dedicated server to run this with only one computer?? Idk where to even start with being able to play this
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-05-2011, 02:53 PM
FluX FluX is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 4,913
Default

K some bugs my server have found:
• When crawler and up a wall and die while on wall (tilted screen), you have it permantly. Only way out of it is to control another specimen.
• Dunno if this is 100% but sometimes you can't hit doors (for example the KF-GanjaFarm map front fence door) but main doors worked.

Things I personally would like to see:
• Some kind of setting that you can choose whether you want to use normal levels BUT specific level like the last VS beta mod had.
• Something like the last one showing the damage you're doing. We really couldn't tell if we was touching the humans as we can't see the health in the status when we're specimens.
• Any chance for some kind of refference to where you're aiming as the husk?

It seems really good but takes a few waves to get use to. Does the specimens get affected per difficulty like it usually is? My server loves it so far and we only did one map. Great version 1 and hope to see further work on this!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-06-2011, 04:23 AM
mooarchanox mooarchanox is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 188
Default

i seems to get it working though, but i would like to request that the 2 game modes should be separated as different mutator and make it can be run one at a time. anyway, thanks Marco

ps. can you add this to show as a mutator for the listen server as well ?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-06-2011, 06:18 AM
RoBoT's Avatar
RoBoT RoBoT is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Syria
Posts: 1,088
Default

another awesome mod from marco, thank you!
this will make more people play KF, keep up the good work
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-06-2011, 06:52 AM
Marco Marco is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Finland
Posts: 530
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mooarchanox View Post
ps. can you add this to show as a mutator for the listen server as well ?
Impossible to make this mod work as mutator but for listen play you can start it as standard KF, after map started you can bring down console and write in following command:
Open KF-Manor?Game=KFMonsterVS.VSGame?Listen
That will switch map to Manor with the game mode active.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-06-2011, 07:01 AM
mooarchanox mooarchanox is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 188
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marco View Post
Impossible to make this mod work as mutator but for listen play you can start it as standard KF, after map started you can bring down console and write in following command:
Open KF-Manor?Game=KFMonsterVS.VSGame?Listen
That will switch map to Manor with the game mode active.
Thanks, if i want to change between the two mode, what do i need to change ? (for listen)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-06-2011, 08:58 AM
braindead's Avatar
braindead braindead is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Merry Ol' England
Posts: 917
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marco View Post
Impossible to make this mod work as mutator but for listen play you can start it as standard KF, after map started you can bring down console and write in following command:
Open KF-Manor?Game=KFMonsterVS.VSGame?Listen
That will switch map to Manor with the game mode active.
This would work for single? you could play against bots, using the bots (Marco) mod

Code:
class SPVSGameMut extends mutator;

function postBeginPlay()
{
local string currentmap;

if(VSGame(level.game)==none)
    {
    currentmap=GetURLMap(false);

    level.servertravel("?game=KFMonsterVS.VSGame",true);

    }
}

defaultproperties
{

     GroupName="KF-VSGame"
     FriendlyName="Killing Floor VS Mod"
     Description="Allows Single Player Versus Gametype"
}
not sure whether it would work for a listen though, i'll have a test,

*Edit just tested and it works fine on Listen server as well

Hope it helps?
__________________

Last edited by braindead; 07-06-2011 at 09:00 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-06-2011, 10:56 AM
botskiller16 botskiller16 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 40
Default

PLS make a better/smarter bots for KF. Please Marco.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-06-2011, 11:42 AM
mooarchanox mooarchanox is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 188
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by braindead View Post
This would work for single? you could play against bots, using the bots (Marco) mod

Code:
class SPVSGameMut extends mutator;

function postBeginPlay()
{
local string currentmap;

if(VSGame(level.game)==none)
    {
    currentmap=GetURLMap(false);

    level.servertravel("?game=KFMonsterVS.VSGame",true);

    }
}

defaultproperties
{

     GroupName="KF-VSGame"
     FriendlyName="Killing Floor VS Mod"
     Description="Allows Single Player Versus Gametype"
}
not sure whether it would work for a listen though, i'll have a test,

*Edit just tested and it works fine on Listen server as well

Hope it helps?
Thanks, it's working likes a charm ! anyway, how can i change to the second mode =,= ?

Last edited by mooarchanox; 07-06-2011 at 11:45 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-06-2011, 12:05 PM
Marco Marco is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Finland
Posts: 530
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mooarchanox View Post
Thanks, if i want to change between the two mode, what do i need to change ? (for listen)
As listen server host you can type in console:
Set VSGame bFullVSMode 0
For the non-team based mode, and
Set VSGame bFullVSMode 1
For the team based mode again.

Needs a mapswitch after that for the changes to take effect properly.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 07-08-2011, 03:00 AM
FluX FluX is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 4,913
Default

Hey Marco. Im trying to adjust your VSServerPerks Fix onto my version of your mutator. I keep getting an error when compiling:

Code:
Analyzing...
Superclass VSHUD of class VSHUDKillingFloor not found
History: UMakeCommandlet::Main
Exiting due to error
How can I fix this? I would try but I have no idea what to do as i've never had this error before.

EDIT: Also will the stuff I said before be taking into consideration and get a new version out?

Last edited by FluX; 07-08-2011 at 03:03 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07-08-2011, 06:34 AM
mooarchanox mooarchanox is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 188
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FluX View Post
Hey Marco. Im trying to adjust your VSServerPerks Fix onto my version of your mutator. I keep getting an error when compiling:

Code:
Analyzing...
Superclass VSHUD of class VSHUDKillingFloor not found
History: UMakeCommandlet::Main
Exiting due to error
How can I fix this? I would try but I have no idea what to do as i've never had this error before.

EDIT: Also will the stuff I said before be taking into consideration and get a new version out?
add both mutator to the editpackage ...
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 07-08-2011, 10:13 AM
Marco Marco is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Finland
Posts: 530
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FluX View Post
• When crawler and up a wall and die while on wall (tilted screen), you have it permantly. Only way out of it is to control another specimen.
Will fix that on later version.
Quote:
Originally Posted by FluX View Post
• Dunno if this is 100% but sometimes you can't hit doors (for example the KF-GanjaFarm map front fence door) but main doors worked.
That's because of the non-solid fence part in middle of the door, you have to aim at the solid part of the mover (there's no real fix for this but I can make it easier though).
Quote:
Originally Posted by FluX View Post
• Some kind of setting that you can choose whether you want to use normal levels BUT specific level like the last VS beta mod had.
Not going to happen (since you can use maplists).
Quote:
Originally Posted by FluX View Post
• Something like the last one showing the damage you're doing. We really couldn't tell if we was touching the humans as we can't see the health in the status when we're specimens.
I could add an option for hit sound effect indicating you did damage to a human as specimen.
Quote:
Originally Posted by FluX View Post
• Any chance for some kind of refference to where you're aiming as the husk?
I could add a crosshair for the Husk...
Quote:
Originally Posted by FluX View Post
Does the specimens get affected per difficulty like it usually is?
The specimen's difficulty are same as on normal KF difficulty settings.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 07-08-2011, 04:14 PM
FluX FluX is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 4,913
Default

Nice, can't wait for next update.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 07-10-2011, 02:13 AM
GeneticArmor GeneticArmor is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sweden, Södertälje
Posts: 224
Default

I found an issue.
By merely having this as an optional game-mode in your voting configuration, you can't use perks regardless of the game-mode you're currently playing.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2005 - 2014, Tripwire Interactive, LLC