Tripwire Interactive Forums

Go Back   Tripwire Interactive Forums > Red Orchestra 2 / Rising Storm Forums > RO2/RS Modifications > Level Design

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-17-2014, 07:26 PM
Yegof Yegof is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3
Default Finding the terrain materials in content browser

I'm sorry if this is a total no-brainer but it's stumping me.

I am following the video tutorials to make my first map in the RO2 SDK, I want to paint a texture (just a basic floorspace) with a material (like dirt grass, anything) and I have been trolling the files that come in the ROGame folder and I can find seemingly everything but the materials for terrain. What am I doing wrong?

I'm finding the files in C:\Gaming\steamapps\common\Red Orchestra 2\ROGame\CookedPC if that helps and I'm looking in the totally wrong location.

If I 'm not asking the right kind of question please be kind, as I'm new to this and am earnestly stuck.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-17-2014, 08:22 PM
PsychoPigeon's Avatar
PsychoPigeon PsychoPigeon is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Brighton, England
Posts: 956
Default

All the packages are in the RO2 folder in my documents, not in the steam directory. They should already be loaded into the SDK but you may have to click them and click fully load if it's dark grey.

First thing you want to do is open Terrain Editing Tool, with that window open in the bottom left is a button which says New Terrain Setup Layer. Call it something, then once that's created highlight it and right click and select New Terrain Material, give it a name then open your content browser.

Now it should automatically open your package(map file), find the Terrain Material (not the layer) it should be green, and right click it and click properties. Keep the properties window open then go back to your content browser. Highlight all the packages in the menu and filter out anything except materials, then use the search bar to define your search.

Simply highlight in the content browser the material you want then go back to your material properties window and click the green arrow.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1.jpg (100.6 KB, 19 views)

Last edited by PsychoPigeon; 03-17-2014 at 08:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-18-2014, 12:28 AM
®omano's Avatar
®omano ®omano is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: France
Posts: 816
Default

Personnally my content browser does not show the different packages, mine looks like this (I post it in case his content browser is like mine, with only ROGame on the left menu in My Package:

http://www.hostingpics.net/viewer.ph...89SDKhowto.png

Spoiler!


Like psychopigeon said, follow his instruction and there you go.

I personnaly do it another way: you simply have to select material in content browser, then in the terrain editor, right click under the Heightmap thing and click New Terrain Setup Layer from material (auto create).

here is a video i learned from : http://thenewboston.org/watch.php?cat=12&number=37

Checkout this guy's video i learned a lot with them: http://thenewboston.org/list.php?cat=12 videos 36 to 40 for terrain. Other videos are great too

Thing to not forget: you can not add infinite layers in your terrain, if you see the rainbow texture, your are going with too much layers. The layers as their name indicates, are layers one over each other, think about it when you get them inside your terrain, you can not change position or remove one of the layer without disturbing the other one after all is paint like you want. Before detailing the terrain painting with different layers, be sure of how you do it (if you mess up, you maybe have to delete all and paint them again in some cases.
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by PsychoPigeon
do not suggest $hit you do not know about

Last edited by ®omano; 03-18-2014 at 12:31 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-18-2014, 10:12 AM
Yegof Yegof is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3
Default

Thank you all very much for the responses, I will explore what you wrote and report back!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-18-2014, 01:48 PM
Yegof Yegof is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3
Default

First let me say thank you PsychoPigeon, and ®omano!

Turns out my SDK looks like PsychoPigeon's example, so I really appreciate both angles!

I have begun to "fully load" the assets, and I understand that I need to continue to do this until that option is greyed out. Never-mind the fact that fully load, would suggest total completion and not partial...

I am now able to apply materials to by floor space I made huzzah!

Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-18-2014, 10:43 PM
®omano's Avatar
®omano ®omano is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: France
Posts: 816
Default

1) Maybe you don't want to paint a terrain, and want to Aplly a Material to a BSP (brush)? For that select the material you want in Content Browser, right click on your BSP and select APPLY MATERIAL

http://img15.hostingpics.net/pics/246900applymat1.png
Spoiler!


2) If you need to select the entire brush to Apply a Material, right click on one of its face, go to Select Surface submenu, and select Matching Brush

http://img15.hostingpics.net/pics/173175applymat2.png
Spoiler!


3) Then you simply do the same as above, right click on the brush, select Apply Material, this will apply the selected material in Content Browser.

http://img15.hostingpics.net/pics/863949applymat3.png
Spoiler!


4) You can also change the scaling, or alignement and other options of the texture, by selecting the different brush surfaces you want (or select all as in "2)" and press F4 or right click, and select Surface Properties

http://img15.hostingpics.net/pics/524574applymat4.png
Spoiler!


http://img15.hostingpics.net/pics/611212applymat5.png
Spoiler!



You can also watch video 7 to 12 here http://thenewboston.org/list.php?cat=12


EDIT: I totally misunderstood what you wrote and just realize it, but I let this in the topic as it can be usefull for someone else.
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by PsychoPigeon
do not suggest $hit you do not know about

Last edited by ®omano; 03-18-2014 at 10:57 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2005 - 2014, Tripwire Interactive, LLC