Tripwire Interactive Forums

Go Back   Tripwire Interactive Forums > Killing Floor Forums > Killing Floor General > Ideas and Suggestions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 05-05-2012, 12:05 PM
pie1055's Avatar
pie1055 pie1055 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bedlam
Posts: 174
Default

Buttons aside, does it have the hardware for the job? From what I know Killing Floor already has problems with needing a lot of power in order for it to run in a playable manner. Thus why we have a limit of 32 zeds spawned at a time.

Or is this due to its minimum specs?
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 05-05-2012, 12:10 PM
Maddoxx's Avatar
Maddoxx Maddoxx is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Earth
Posts: 888
Default

I like the idea!
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 05-05-2012, 03:04 PM
BenioX BenioX is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Poland
Posts: 2,014
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gartley View Post
Lets boil it down to what controls you really need.

Move and Look
Weapons selection
Jump
Crouch
Nade
Fire
Secondary Fire

That's it really, you could map that to a PSP. And that's before you consider using one button as a function key.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Undedd Jester View Post
+ Aim Down Sight
+ Reload
+ Interact (Doors and Trader)
You forgot about the voice commands, menu select and kick-voting :P

Last edited by BenioX; 05-05-2012 at 03:07 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 05-05-2012, 03:20 PM
Benjamin Benjamin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: France
Posts: 3,632
Default

I think this would work well enough, and a couple of buttons are free:




Quote:
Originally Posted by BenioX View Post
kick voting
That can be done from the menu.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenioX View Post
voice commands
It has a built-in microphone.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 05-05-2012, 03:23 PM
BenioX BenioX is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Poland
Posts: 2,014
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benjamin View Post
It has a built-in microphone.
But it's not same what those Brittish accent soldiers mait
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 05-05-2012, 03:25 PM
Benjamin Benjamin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: France
Posts: 3,632
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenioX View Post
But it's not same what those Brittish accent soldiers mait
Fine, use 'up' on the d-pad, or the select button.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 05-05-2012, 03:27 PM
BenioX BenioX is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Poland
Posts: 2,014
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benjamin View Post
Fine, use 'up' on the d-pad, or the select button.
Okay, select button seems legit
Now, is there any dev seeing this topic and ready to implement this? If so I am so getting vita
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 05-05-2012, 04:28 PM
pauleigee pauleigee is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 21
Default

Nice job on the button lay out. Don't forget there's a front and back touch pad. I hope to god the dev's are looking at this. I want this to happen so bad! C'mon tripwire I know you can do it.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 05-05-2012, 07:12 PM
BenioX BenioX is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Poland
Posts: 2,014
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pauleigee View Post
C'mon tripwire I know you can do it.
If they could, then instead of having discussion here we'd all be playing KF on Vita right now
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 05-05-2012, 09:09 PM
Undedd Jester's Avatar
Undedd Jester Undedd Jester is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sheffield, England
Posts: 2,887
Default

Had a crack at mapping out a potential PS Vita control scheme. It feels a little... shoe horned, but I can't shake that feeling more than with this.

Spoiler!


It ain't perfect, but you could have a decent whack at doing everything regular KF does. Minus voice commands ofc.
__________________


I'll think of something to put here later....
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 05-06-2012, 12:35 AM
pauleigee pauleigee is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 21
Default

Undedd that image of the layout is sick. Tripwire that is serious inspiration, let's make it happen.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 05-06-2012, 03:57 AM
Valar_Omega Valar_Omega is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 59
Default

Nope, bad idea. I have played FPS on the console and on the computer the simple fact is that there are underlining designs that cause the game to be favored one way or the other. For example, two weapon swapping helped to deal with the weapon selection problem for console. On the computer it is not problem since you can usually switch to any weapon with a push of the button. And speaking of weapon selection, note that if the button is on the left d-pad you need to take your thumb off the movement stick when switching weapons(it would support using fewer weapons). You might be able to make a game playable on the vita but making it enjoyable is much harder. Although I do admit the touch screen would solve the issue buy weapons and armor faster, just controller would be impractical for that.

P.S. Also for people wanting to take a crack at control set ups. Do not have the alt fire on the D-pad. Just like with weapon select you stop moving for as long as your finger is off. A flashlight or laser sight is fine, but I see problem when you are using the HS or any melee weapon. Although it would make it harder to kite with melee weapons. Also crouch is a lower priority button, maybe switch the two. Still keep it in mind.
__________________
"I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me...."--Dune

Last edited by Valar_Omega; 05-06-2012 at 03:58 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 05-06-2012, 08:05 AM
Benjamin Benjamin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: France
Posts: 3,632
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Valar_Omega View Post
Nope, bad idea. I have played FPS on the console and on the computer the simple fact is that there are underlining designs that cause the game to be favored one way or the other. For example, two weapon swapping helped to deal with the weapon selection problem for console. On the computer it is not problem since you can usually switch to any weapon with a push of the button. And speaking of weapon selection, note that if the button is on the left d-pad you need to take your thumb off the movement stick when switching weapons(it would support using fewer weapons).
You have a good point. In this case you could implement a radial menu using one of the primary buttons, using the view stick to select the weapon.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Valar_Omega View Post
P.S. Also for people wanting to take a crack at control set ups. Do not have the alt fire on the D-pad. Just like with weapon select you stop moving for as long as your finger is off. A flashlight or laser sight is fine, but I see problem when you are using the HS or any melee weapon. Although it would make it harder to kite with melee weapons. Also crouch is a lower priority button, maybe switch the two. Still keep it in mind.
Perhaps some cutbacks would have to be made, but in the case of melee weapons you could have fire and alt-fire on the same key (hold down slightly longer for alt-fire). As you say, switching fire mode is no problem on the d-pad since it's not often something you do in the middle of a fire-fight. As for the HS, you could either remove one of its functions completely or allow for a combination button press to be used (for example, reload+fire) for the alt-fire mode. Or, allow the fire modes to be toggled instead.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 05-06-2012, 11:41 AM
webmasher webmasher is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 6
Default

make killing floor avaiable to psvita is not a porting, but create from scratch since there is too many differences, and nothing replace that accurate aiming using mouse because mouse can follow exactly where my hand/aiming. No some auto aiming bull**** can replace this sensation.

btw, killing floor lite sounds good, make it portable to carry in usb drive, and whenever we found a network connected pc, we can play our favorite game
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 05-06-2012, 01:15 PM
Gartley's Avatar
Gartley Gartley is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 2,323
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by webmasher View Post
make killing floor avaiable to psvita is not a porting, but create from scratch since there is too many differences, and nothing replace that accurate aiming using mouse because mouse can follow exactly where my hand/aiming. No some auto aiming bull**** can replace this sensation.

btw, killing floor lite sounds good, make it portable to carry in usb drive, and whenever we found a network connected pc, we can play our favorite game
A spawn version of KF for LANs?! I'd happily pay for that.
__________________
Whisky's Workshop
"As you can see here, I'm -ALL ON MY F***ING OWN! Guys where the hell are you?!"
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 05-06-2012, 04:53 PM
ro_sauce ro_sauce is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3,113
Default

you CAN put killingfloor on a usb drive and play it wherever you want, it's the steam connection thats the problem.

before i had a laptop, i would just go to the library and use their computers to make maps and stuff running KF off of a usb drive.

i just wasnt able to play online because of being required to install steam on that computer.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 05-07-2012, 12:06 AM
webmasher webmasher is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ro_sauce View Post
you CAN put killingfloor on a usb drive and play it wherever you want, it's the steam connection thats the problem.

before i had a laptop, i would just go to the library and use their computers to make maps and stuff running KF off of a usb drive.

i just wasnt able to play online because of being required to install steam on that computer.
in theory we can, but my killing floor itself taking 10GB including all the patch, maps, and mods, to play coop, we need to copy the killing floor folder that can take about 20 minutes.

if we can make stripped down version self extracting killing floor that only take about ~4gb and this will be the real portable killing floor lite
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 05-07-2012, 06:19 PM
ro_sauce ro_sauce is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3,113
Default

no, not in theory, in practice it is completely viable.
this is what i had to do before because i didnt have a computer at all. i just couldnt play ONLINE because of the steam requirement, but the game/editor ran just fine off of an external device.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 - 2014, Tripwire Interactive, LLC