![]() |
![]() |
|
#1
|
|||
|
|||
|
So here is something different from the general I want X Y in the game and what do you think about K R.
So basically I was browsing the Internet when my eye catched something that seemed so familiar: A screenshot of RO1, well not quite RO1, the sniper corsshair was painted green. http://img6.imagebanana.com/img/voqzihvq/wtf.png Clicking on this ad on Facebook leads you to a game called "Wolfteam" The first thought that crossed my mind was: Can they really be serious? Did they just take a super old WW2 game and paint the crosshair green to make it look futuristic? My second thought was: Is that even legal? Advertising a game with a Screenshot that is not taken from their game. Does that break somekind of Copyright? I thought I might share my thoughts with you and maybe someone can tell me whether this is legal or not. Last edited by Depulsor; 04-29-2012 at 07:29 AM. |
|
#2
|
||||
|
||||
|
Flag it as false advertising or something?
__________________
#1 Bonzai charger |
|
#3
|
|||
|
|||
|
When trying to flag it I only get the option to hide it, so I can not really flag it.
|
|
#4
|
||||
|
||||
|
Wolfteam is RO1 with green crosshair?
http://www.mmobomb.com/wp-content/up...wolfteam-2.jpg From your link I can't tell what game that is it is small. Last edited by [RS]Ol_Sniper; 04-29-2012 at 07:50 AM. |
|
#5
|
|||
|
|||
|
I don't think I can make it anybigger without making it a pixel hell.
But well you misunderstood me, Wolfteam is not RO1 with a green crosshair, but they advertise the game with a screenshot from RO1. http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedi...3Shot00195.jpg They took this screenshot, painted the crosshair green and put it into an ad for wolfteam |
|
#6
|
|||
|
|||
|
What scares me would be "clicking on an ad in Facebook"
__________________
Core 2 Duo 3.16, 6 Gb DDR2, HD 4850 1 gb not o/c, Win 7 64, SATA drive, Realtek onboard (using Windows audio drivers), Motorola Surfboard SBG6580 |
|
#7
|
|||
|
|||
|
well I only clicked on it because it was a screenshot of RO1 so I was curious :P
|
|
#8
|
|||
|
|||
|
Quote:
If I were you I'd download Adblock Plus, and forget about advertisements completely. |
|
#9
|
|||
|
|||
|
an example of my concern was http://old.saferinternet.org/ww/en/p...by_viruses.htm
__________________
Core 2 Duo 3.16, 6 Gb DDR2, HD 4850 1 gb not o/c, Win 7 64, SATA drive, Realtek onboard (using Windows audio drivers), Motorola Surfboard SBG6580 |
|
#10
|
|||
|
|||
|
well I have adblock on my firefox, i was accessing FB through my chrome though, and well yes their advertising worked, but thats the strange thing, I doubt that many people played RO1 so I dont understand why they picked this game.
|
|
#11
|
|||
|
|||
|
a crazy amount of Internet advertising uses stolen images. And not just one off ads, but some that show up over and over again for years on end. In particular there is a line of ads that have been around forever on seemingly every other site on the web that say stuff like- "local mom finds way to cure x! Doctors hate her! You just need to follow this one weird trick! OBEY!" Nearly all of those have stolen images. Often the "local mom" is actually a picture of a French news anchor who was briefly an internet meme about 10 years ago.
Internet advertising is a pretty blizzard world. Ads which seem to have been designed for 5 bucks by a schizophrenic monkey, but which must have tons of money behind them based on the frequency they show up. |
|
#12
|
||||
|
||||
|
Personal fave are the millions of seemingly generic (I never clicked so I can't judge) MMO/RTS games that display those babes on their ad that I would guess have no relation with the product whatsoever.
|
|
#13
|
|||
|
|||
|
Please don't tell me that those pills I'm taking since eight months are not going to grow my ****
Last edited by jackrabbitslim7; 05-01-2012 at 08:07 AM. |
|
#14
|
|||
|
|||
|
Snap Quiz.
So what map is that RO1 image from. Me thinks it starts with B. |
|
#15
|
|||
|
|||
|
I think the map name was something like "Basovka", I always played that map on german side never on russian, loved the challenge :d
It was sometimes impossible to even capture the first objective, but it never frustrated me somehow, that was the magic of RO1
|
|
#16
|
|||
|
|||
|
I see ads like that on facebook all the time. Mostly it has a screenshot from counter strike and asks, "DO YOU THINK YOU CAN BEAT LEVEL 1???"
or something like that.
|
|
#17
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
its anoying |
|
#18
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
But it works, as advertised, ergo, this thread. |
|
#19
|
|||
|
|||
|
My personal favorites are the ones that advertise with screenshots of a AAA game, then literally consist of nothing more than a prettied up static click on the heads as they pop out. Used to be lots of CS de_dust ones.
|
|
#20
|
|||
|
|||
|
Ok so I just saw one today on FB and thought it was pretty funny. It said this:
Are you man enough? Prouve it HERE! 【Click Now】 And it had a picture of DE_Dust. And after I clicked on it it took me to a FB app called "Chaos of Three Kingdoms" I have no idea what it is. I find it rediculous though how false this advertising is. |
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|