Tripwire Interactive Forums

Go Back   Tripwire Interactive Forums > Red Orchestra 2 / Rising Storm Forums > RO2/RS Modifications > General Modding Discussion > RO2/RS Final Mod Releases

Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first Dev post in this thread.  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #61  
Old 02-25-2012, 06:33 AM
Ducky's Avatar
Ducky Ducky is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,745
Default

As of today the release build of the TankTweak mutator has been white-listed.
The previous white-listed TankTweak mutator was the debug build and that one did write a lot of debug info to the server logs. In some cases it caused problems. The debug release is not white-listed anymore. The download link in the OP has been updated to point to the release build version of TankTweak.

My apologies for the inconvenience!
__________________
  #62  
Old 02-25-2012, 10:29 AM
Kerc Kasha Kerc Kasha is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 293
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ducky View Post
As of today the release build of the TankTweak mutator has been white-listed.
The previous white-listed TankTweak mutator was the debug build and that one did write a lot of debug info to the server logs. In some cases it caused problems. The debug release is not white-listed anymore. The download link in the OP has been updated to point to the release build version of TankTweak.

My apologies for the inconvenience!
That explains why the server I was playing on last night was constantly unranking.

Went from a full server to empty on map change...
  Click here to go to the next developer post in this thread.   #63  
Old 04-25-2012, 11:29 AM
[TW]Ramm-Jaeger's Avatar
[TW]Ramm-Jaeger [TW]Ramm-Jaeger is offline
Tripwire Interactive President
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,853
Default

Has anyone using this mutator come up with good default settings you like to use? I'm looking at integrating this functionality into the official code-base, and I'm looking for what the community likes as a default.
__________________
[I support "RO Forums Classic" mode!!!]
  #64  
Old 04-25-2012, 11:32 AM
Raneman's Avatar
Raneman Raneman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 642
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by [TW]Ramm-Jaeger View Post
Has anyone using this mutator come up with good default settings you like to use? I'm looking at integrating this functionality into the official code-base, and I'm looking for what the community likes as a default.
Definitely AI gunner and hull gunner OFF. I don't think anyone needs a bot to aim they gun for them and shoot it. That's just silly. Everything else is fine though.
  #65  
Old 04-25-2012, 11:50 AM
Cwivey's Avatar
Cwivey Cwivey is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: In the hills! (of England)
Posts: 2,510
Default

I say disallow the AI use of the main gun, but keep the AI Hull Gunner active with the reduced accuracy and reduced range. Still need to stop them pesky engineers charging the fronts of tanks while limiting the long-range headshots on folk hiding away.
  #66  
Old 04-25-2012, 01:26 PM
Ducky's Avatar
Ducky Ducky is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,745
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by [TW]Ramm-Jaeger View Post
Has anyone using this mutator come up with good default settings you like to use? I'm looking at integrating this functionality into the official code-base, and I'm looking for what the community likes as a default.
I know that [40-1]MORD did play a lot with the settings of this mutator. Also Cat_in_da_Hat did play with it. They both still use it on their servers.

My personal preferred settings are to disable the main gun completely and to reduce the accuracy of the hull mg on moving targets and on long distance. None moving targets should still be easy to kill. This way an AT gunner should think twice before going prone in front of a tank, but the infantry units still have a fair chance to escape from it.
__________________

Last edited by Ducky; 04-25-2012 at 01:31 PM.
  Click here to go to the next developer post in this thread.   #67  
Old 04-25-2012, 01:27 PM
[TW]Ramm-Jaeger's Avatar
[TW]Ramm-Jaeger [TW]Ramm-Jaeger is offline
Tripwire Interactive President
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,853
Default

Let me clarify - for those NOT disabling AI I'm looking for what tweaked setting server admins like to run. Disabling AI is easy to leave as an option. But I'm looking for good playable defaults with AI on.
__________________
[I support "RO Forums Classic" mode!!!]
  This is the last developer post in this thread.   #68  
Old 04-25-2012, 01:28 PM
[TW]Ramm-Jaeger's Avatar
[TW]Ramm-Jaeger [TW]Ramm-Jaeger is offline
Tripwire Interactive President
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,853
Default

Also, one of the things I'm considering adding is somewhere between on/off. Basically a setting where the AI will only fire at someone if the human commander in the tank orders them to do it, and even then they will only fire for a short while then stop. In this way, tank AI will be somewhat useful, but not overpowering like they currently are.
__________________
[I support "RO Forums Classic" mode!!!]
  #69  
Old 04-25-2012, 01:31 PM
Major_Day's Avatar
Major_Day Major_Day is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 2,648
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by [TW]Ramm-Jaeger View Post
Let me clarify - for those NOT disabling AI I'm looking for what tweaked setting server admins like to run. Disabling AI is easy to leave as an option. But I'm looking for good playable defaults with AI on.
I think the default ability of the AI depends on whether the game difficulty on the server is set to Hero, Veteran, Soldier or Recruit.
I have the mg on,but gunner off,for the AI.
__________________

Last edited by Major_Day; 04-25-2012 at 01:33 PM.
  #70  
Old 04-25-2012, 01:32 PM
Ducky's Avatar
Ducky Ducky is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,745
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by [tw]ramm-jaeger View Post
also, one of the things i'm considering adding is somewhere between on/off. Basically a setting where the ai will only fire at someone if the human commander in the tank orders them to do it, and even then they will only fire for a short while then stop. In this way, tank ai will be somewhat useful, but not overpowering like they currently are.
+10
__________________
  #71  
Old 04-25-2012, 01:38 PM
Major_Day's Avatar
Major_Day Major_Day is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 2,648
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ducky View Post
+10
How do you enter +10 in the mutator .ini?
__________________
  #72  
Old 04-25-2012, 01:44 PM
Ducky's Avatar
Ducky Ducky is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,745
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Major_Day View Post
How do you enter +10 in the mutator .ini?
lol

You can add it at the bottom of the ini file like this
Code:
; +10
__________________
  #73  
Old 04-25-2012, 01:46 PM
Major_Day's Avatar
Major_Day Major_Day is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 2,648
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ducky View Post
lol

You can add it at the bottom of the ini file like this
Code:
; +10
No you've lost me there,can you do it for me?

[TankTweak.TankTweak]
DifficultyInfantryMissPercentage=(Recruit=35.0,Sol dier=30.0,Veteran=25.0,Hero=20.0)
DifficultyMainGunVarianceFactor=(Recruit=1.0,Soldi er=1.0,Veteran=0.66,Hero=0.25)
TargetSpeedMissPercentage=(Still=0.0,Walking=0.0,R unning=20.0)
RangeSettings=(Short=50.0,Medium=100.0,Long=150.0)
RangeMissPercentage=(Short=10.0,Medium=30.0,Long=6 0.0)
MainGunErrorVsDistRatios=(Horizontal=0.025,Vertica l=0.0125)
AllowAIToControlHullMG=true
AllowAIToControlMainGun=true

[IniVersion]
0=1327193125.000000
__________________
  #74  
Old 04-25-2012, 02:28 PM
Mike_Nomad Mike_Nomad is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 5,025
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by [TW]Ramm-Jaeger View Post
Also, one of the things I'm considering adding is somewhere between on/off. Basically a setting where the AI will only fire at someone if the human commander in the tank orders them to do it, and even then they will only fire for a short while then stop. In this way, tank AI will be somewhat useful, but not overpowering like they currently are.
This is a great idea. I'd love that ability in TT.
  #75  
Old 04-26-2012, 02:09 AM
The Beast (nl)'s Avatar
The Beast (nl) The Beast (nl) is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 3,113
Default

It is great to have a tanktweak but...

When i go from the driver`s seat to the gunner`s seat and i want to use the canon the first i must do is lower the canon and turn it forward.

The AI mustn`t take over the gunner`s seat when i am the driver.
__________________
Intel I7-920 - 2,67ghz, 6 gb ram, nvidia gtx 560 TI twin fan 2gb, win7 64bit - Creative X-FI Xtreme soundcard.
  #76  
Old 04-26-2012, 02:35 AM
Major_Day's Avatar
Major_Day Major_Day is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 2,648
Default

If tanktweak is in use on the server,and the admin has used tanktweak to stop the bots from using the main gun,then this doesn't happen.
It only happens on servers not using tanktweak, or servers where tanktweak has not been configured to stop the bots using the main gun.
__________________

Last edited by Major_Day; 04-26-2012 at 02:36 AM.
  #77  
Old 04-29-2012, 03:05 PM
clambo's Avatar
clambo clambo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 411
Default

I'd love to see the default hull gunner be fairly pathetic in spotting and accuracy -
but the ability to hit some keys to "wake him up" for a few seconds.

Example:

hit key 7 for somewhat accurate medium high % hull spotting for 7 seconds

hit key 8 for somewhat less accurate medium % hull spotting for 15 seconds

hit key 9 for less accurate medium low % hull spotting for 30 seconds

hit key 0 for low low % hull spotting for 45 seconds

Unless you hit a key it stays at a lowest (fairly pathetic) spotting and accuracy%

For every key press above - it takes 45 seconds until one of the keys works again.

This simulates a tired crew getting yelled at by the commander - ha

The commander sees better than the hull gunner anyway.
  #78  
Old 04-30-2012, 11:22 PM
Calumhm Calumhm is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Plymouth, England
Posts: 367
Default

I'd like to see AI crew spot enemies.

Tanks have cupolas and plenty of viewports, so the crew's awareness is much better than just the player's vision; I wanna have my AI crewmen spot threats (up to a limited distance) if they're looking in the right direction.

Might be hard to implement though.
  #79  
Old 04-30-2012, 11:35 PM
Cat_in_da_Hat Cat_in_da_Hat is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,358
Default

Some good ideas Calumhm and Clambo.

Would be great if the AI could start yelling out that an engineer is chasing us with a satchel.
  #80  
Old 05-01-2012, 03:10 AM
Ducky's Avatar
Ducky Ducky is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,745
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Calumhm View Post
I'd like to see AI crew spot enemies.

Tanks have cupolas and plenty of viewports, so the crew's awareness is much better than just the player's vision; I wanna have my AI crewmen spot threats (up to a limited distance) if they're looking in the right direction.

Might be hard to implement though.
Yes, that is a good idea, but it has nothing to do with this mutator. Please post it in the Ideas and Suggestions section. Then at least they won't be forgotten and others will jump in to start a discussion.

Quote:
Originally Posted by clambo View Post
I'd love to see the default hull gunner be fairly pathetic in spotting and accuracy -
but the ability to hit some keys to "wake him up" for a few seconds.

Example:

hit key 7 for somewhat accurate medium high % hull spotting for 7 seconds

hit key 8 for somewhat less accurate medium % hull spotting for 15 seconds

hit key 9 for less accurate medium low % hull spotting for 30 seconds

hit key 0 for low low % hull spotting for 45 seconds

Unless you hit a key it stays at a lowest (fairly pathetic) spotting and accuracy%

For every key press above - it takes 45 seconds until one of the keys works again.

This simulates a tired crew getting yelled at by the commander - ha

The commander sees better than the hull gunner anyway.
No additional functionality will be added to this mutator, because it is going to be integrated in RO2s code-base and some sort of command feature will probably be added. Please check Ramm's post about it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by [TW]Ramm-Jaeger View Post
Also, one of the things I'm considering adding is somewhere between on/off. Basically a setting where the AI will only fire at someone if the human commander in the tank orders them to do it, and even then they will only fire for a short while then stop. In this way, tank AI will be somewhat useful, but not overpowering like they currently are.
__________________

Last edited by Ducky; 05-01-2012 at 03:18 AM.
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 - 2014, Tripwire Interactive, LLC