Tripwire Interactive Forums

Go Back   Tripwire Interactive Forums > Red Orchestra 2 / Rising Storm Forums > RO2/RS Modifications > General Modding Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-29-2012, 07:44 PM
Vorlox's Avatar
Vorlox Vorlox is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1
Default New to the Unreal Engine and RO2 Modding scene, having some issues with SDK

I've used SDK's before such as Valves Hammer editor and other tools, I've never really used the UDK or RO2 Editor before, I have a basic map created and I can spawn as either allies or axis, But, when trying to add a texture to anything(I mean anything); The content browser locks up and once even crashed my entire machine, I looked at possible fixes on these forums for about an hour and none seem to work and this "GameAsset" file I'm supposed to delete doesn't appear to be present, where is it supposed to be located?

Also another thing, being unfamiliar with how the editor works, How do I place down weapons or chose the spawn weapons? As I'm attempting at making a single-player linear-based map, i have a planned project already which I was going to create on the source engine, but i decided to use the RO2 engine and UDK instead as the engine is VERY well refined and the amazing cover system, guns and realism would make everything 10x better!

I wasn't the best at mapping on source, but I could make a fairly decent CSS map, and knew just about how the entire toolset worked, would anyone say that UDK/ro2 sdk is easier, or just the same to use? Seeing as how Hammer and the source SDK is 7 years outdated?

Thanks in advance, this is my first post at the forums
Scott.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-01-2012, 02:26 PM
Raneman's Avatar
Raneman Raneman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 642
Default

Hi Scott, good luck with your map.

There currently isn't support for weapons placed in maps- RO2 isn't deisgned that way. We don't have much documentation on singleplayer maps yet; perhaps you could try a multiplayer one?

To fix the content browser, switch the view to something like a list view. You won't get previews of anything but it stops them from previewing- which should fix crashes.

To do this, check near the bottom of the content list and look for some small buttons that change how the content is displayed.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 - 2014, Tripwire Interactive, LLC