Tripwire Interactive Forums

Go Back   Tripwire Interactive Forums > Red Orchestra 2 / Rising Storm Forums > Technical Support > Dedicated Server Support

Reply
Click here to go to the first Dev post in this thread.  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-13-2012, 05:02 PM
omniconsumer's Avatar
omniconsumer omniconsumer is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: New York City
Posts: 407
Default Hyperthreading ON/OFF?

We have invested in an i7-2600k for a dedicated server.

We were going to dedicate a full core just for the server.

My colleague is insistent that we disable hyper-threading. I don't agree. Am I wrong in thinking this way? I would rather not disable it to be honest. I don't see how it would be a disadvantage to leave it on especially if we are already assigning the affinity to one physical core.

Has anyone come across this issue? Thanks in advance.
__________________

http://LMCgaming.com

Last edited by omniconsumer; 04-13-2012 at 09:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-13-2012, 07:03 PM
ButchCassidy's Avatar
ButchCassidy ButchCassidy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: The Hole in the Wall
Posts: 3,540
Default

Leave hyper threading on..It will help with the additional core offload..
__________________
<a href=https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/54368035/TWIL/Signatures/TWIL%20heroes.png target=_blank>https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...L%20heroes.png</a>
www.twiladder.com
I'm on a vodka diet, I've lost 3 days so far.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-13-2012, 09:15 PM
omniconsumer's Avatar
omniconsumer omniconsumer is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: New York City
Posts: 407
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ButchCassidy View Post
Leave hyper threading on..It will help with the additional core offload..

Thanks for your response! Further elaboration please?
__________________

http://LMCgaming.com

Last edited by omniconsumer; 04-13-2012 at 10:56 PM.
Reply With Quote
  This is the last developer post in this thread.   #4  
Old 04-14-2012, 12:28 PM
[TW]Swag [TW]Swag is offline
Tripwire Interactive Staff
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Yonder, Georgia
Posts: 319
Default

I think you colleague may be onto something. Since Hyper-Threading is most beneficial in applications that are multi-threaded and the Unreal Engine is not multi-threaded, it would in fact be best to disable it.

Disabling will allow the operating system and the application to commit the entire processor core to the thread thus giving it a more reliable pipeline of data through put.

In a scenario with a quad core sever, you could have two physic processor cores running two unique Unreal servers, and still have two cores for the base operating system and supporting subsystems of the operating system to still operate. In a hyper-threaded situation you could end up with totally idle cores and totally overworked cores. The Unreal engine isn't multi-threaded, so it should not benefit in the least with hyper-threading.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-14-2012, 07:36 PM
omniconsumer's Avatar
omniconsumer omniconsumer is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: New York City
Posts: 407
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by [TW]Swag View Post
I think you colleague may be onto something. Since Hyper-Threading is most beneficial in applications that are multi-threaded and the Unreal Engine is not multi-threaded, it would in fact be best to disable it.

Disabling will allow the operating system and the application to commit the entire processor core to the thread thus giving it a more reliable pipeline of data through put.

In a scenario with a quad core sever, you could have two physic processor cores running two unique Unreal servers, and still have two cores for the base operating system and supporting subsystems of the operating system to still operate. In a hyper-threaded situation you could end up with totally idle cores and totally overworked cores. The Unreal engine isn't multi-threaded, so it should not benefit in the least with hyper-threading.

Thank you. You have been very helpful.
__________________

http://LMCgaming.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-29-2012, 03:14 AM
omniconsumer's Avatar
omniconsumer omniconsumer is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: New York City
Posts: 407
Default

A follow up.

I disabled hyper-threading on my i7 quad core, overclocked it to 4.0ghz, and have disabled speed step. We are currently running a 64 player server off of the first core. Everything seems to be running smoothly so far. I suppose the real test will be when more players join at any given time.

It is best to run this server on one CPU exclusively it seems.
__________________

http://LMCgaming.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-29-2012, 12:56 PM
omniconsumer's Avatar
omniconsumer omniconsumer is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: New York City
Posts: 407
Default

Players game play seems to be without complaint so far. Not getting any lag complaints in chat.

Pings are definitely higher when than they should be. Is there something I could tweak in this regard?

Running 50 bots with bot detonator. Process affinity to one core.
__________________

http://LMCgaming.com

Last edited by omniconsumer; 04-29-2012 at 01:37 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-29-2012, 02:32 PM
82ndab-Bravo17 82ndab-Bravo17 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 34
Default

I would try with it set to one core other than the first core, since the OS usually uses some of this for its own purposes, I believe.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-29-2012, 03:30 PM
Floyd Floyd is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Waterproof
Posts: 4,152
Default

Have you looked into this thread: http://forums.tripwireinteractive.co...ad.php?t=57509

Especially with regard to the PREFERPROCESSOR= command?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-29-2012, 05:01 PM
omniconsumer's Avatar
omniconsumer omniconsumer is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: New York City
Posts: 407
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 82ndab-Bravo17 View Post
I would try with it set to one core other than the first core, since the OS usually uses some of this for its own purposes, I believe.
Interesting. I will have to research this and possibly test it out. Thanks.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Floyd View Post
Have you looked into this thread: http://forums.tripwireinteractive.co...ad.php?t=57509

Especially with regard to the PREFERPROCESSOR= command?
Yes, I actually have it set to -PREFERPROCESSOR=0 in my ro2server.bat which points it to my first physical core.
__________________

http://LMCgaming.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 - 2014, Tripwire Interactive, LLC