Tripwire Interactive Forums

Go Back   Tripwire Interactive Forums > Red Orchestra 2 / Rising Storm Forums > RO2/RS General > General Discussion

Reply
Click here to go to the first Dev post in this thread.  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-25-2012, 02:45 PM
Ducky's Avatar
Ducky Ducky is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,687
Default Integration of the TankTweak mutator into TWI's RO2 code-base

TWI is looking into integrating the functionality of the TankTweak mutator into there code-base (see Ramm's post here). For this they need some feedback from server admins for best settings to be used as defaults. Therefor i'm calling out to the admins that use it to post there serverROTankTweak.ini file here in this thread so that we can get an idea which defaults are preferred (best accepted).

Many thanks in advance!
__________________

Last edited by Ducky; 04-25-2012 at 03:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-25-2012, 03:32 PM
hekuball's Avatar
hekuball hekuball is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 523
Default

noob question but, what does it do?
__________________
In-game name: burt
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-25-2012, 03:32 PM
The Beast (nl)'s Avatar
The Beast (nl) The Beast (nl) is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 3,097
Default

Nice news ducky


I have one comment, when you go from the driver`s place to the
gunner`s place the canon is directing to the sky....it`s worse now.

The ai mustn`t touch the canon...
__________________
Intel I7-920 - 2,67ghz, 6 gb ram, nvidia gtx 560 TI twin fan 2gb, win7 64bit - Creative X-FI Xtreme soundcard.

Last edited by The Beast (nl); 04-26-2012 at 02:06 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-25-2012, 03:34 PM
Ducky's Avatar
Ducky Ducky is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,687
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Beast (nl) View Post
Nice news ducky


I have one comment, when you go from the gunner`s place to the
gunner`s place the canon is directing to the sky....it`s worse now.

The ai mustn`t touch the canon...
Stange. The mutator isn't doing anything with the aim.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-25-2012, 03:37 PM
The Beast (nl)'s Avatar
The Beast (nl) The Beast (nl) is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 3,097
Default

I have engage it many times...

Are there other mutators maybe that cause this??
__________________
Intel I7-920 - 2,67ghz, 6 gb ram, nvidia gtx 560 TI twin fan 2gb, win7 64bit - Creative X-FI Xtreme soundcard.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-25-2012, 03:45 PM
Ducky's Avatar
Ducky Ducky is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,687
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hekuball View Post
noob question but, what does it do?
All this: http://forums.tripwireinteractive.co...ad.php?t=74738
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-25-2012, 03:59 PM
Ducky's Avatar
Ducky Ducky is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,687
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Beast (nl) View Post
I have engage it many times...

Are there other mutators maybe that cause this??
AFAIK, only TankTweak messes around with the tank settings.

Please report bugs on TankTweak in this thread.
__________________

Last edited by Ducky; 04-25-2012 at 04:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-25-2012, 04:41 PM
Major_Day's Avatar
Major_Day Major_Day is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 2,648
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Beast (nl) View Post
Nice news ducky


I have one comment, when you go from the gunner`s place to the
gunner`s place the canon is directing to the sky....it`s worse now.

The ai mustn`t touch the canon...
What's that got to do with the mutator, if the bots are doing this then the mutator isn't active.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-25-2012, 10:41 PM
Golf33 Golf33 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 922
Default

Great news!

Now if only TWI could do the same with Mekhazzio's anti-lag mutator we'd really be on a roll!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-26-2012, 06:36 AM
Mike_Nomad Mike_Nomad is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 5,025
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Golf33 View Post
Great news!

Now if only TWI could do the same with Mekhazzio's anti-lag mutator we'd really be on a roll!
There is always that possibility...Client side hit detection has its merits.

To get back on topic;

Here's the TT .ini we use.
Code:
[TankTweak.TankTweak]
DifficultyInfantryMissPercentage=(Recruit=35.0,Soldier=30.0,Veteran=25.0,Hero=20.0)
DifficultyMainGunVarianceFactor=(Recruit=1.0,Soldier=1.0,Veteran=0.66,Hero=0.25)
TargetSpeedMissPercentage=(Still=0.0,Walking=0.0,Running=20.0)
RangeSettings=(Short=50.0,Medium=100.0,Long=150.0)
RangeMissPercentage=(Short=10.0,Medium=30.0,Long=60.0)
MainGunErrorVsDistRatios=(Horizontal=0.025,Vertical=0.0125)
AllowAIToControlHullMG=true
AllowAIToControlMainGun=true

[IniVersion]
0=1327193125.000000
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-26-2012, 07:15 AM
[40-1]MORD's Avatar
[40-1]MORD [40-1]MORD is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: London
Posts: 584
Default

Right now we run AllowAIToControlHullMG=false and AllowAIToControlMainGun=false but at beginning we had different settings.
Basicly I tried to eliminate all successful hull mg shots at ranges 50.0+.
As far as I remember I menaged to do it using following settings:

DifficultyInfantryMissPercentage=(Recruit=70.0,Sol dier=70.0,Veteran=70.0,Hero=70.0)
TargetSpeedMissPercentage=(Still=0.0,Walking=10.0, Running=20.0)
RangeMissPercentage=(Short=0.0,Medium=40.0,Long=40 .0)

AllowAIToControlHullMG=true
AllowAIToControlMainGun=false

So there is 30% of chance of hitting not moving target, 20% walking and 10% running target at the short range and 0% of hitting at ranges medium and long. Some values exceed 100% as I noticed that even having 100% of penalty on medium and long ranges the ai hull gunner still scored some kills.
__________________

Last edited by [40-1]MORD; 04-26-2012 at 07:22 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-26-2012, 07:20 AM
[RS]Ol_Sniper's Avatar
[RS]Ol_Sniper [RS]Ol_Sniper is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 145
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Major_Day View Post
What's that got to do with the mutator, if the bots are doing this then the mutator isn't active.

Wouldn't the non-use of BOTS eliminate any problems like this?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-26-2012, 08:29 AM
Major_Day's Avatar
Major_Day Major_Day is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 2,648
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cliffs View Post
Wouldn't the non-use of BOTS eliminate any problems like this?
and if TWI hadn't put bots in the mg and main gun positions we wouldn't need this mutator at all, which is what we're talking about and NOT the use of bots in general.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-26-2012, 08:45 AM
Mekhazzio's Avatar
Mekhazzio Mekhazzio is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Golf33 View Post
Now if only TWI could do the same with Mekhazzio's anti-lag mutator we'd really be on a roll!
That appears to be the plan. They contacted me too.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-26-2012, 08:53 AM
Proud_God's Avatar
Proud_God Proud_God is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 3,179
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mekhazzio View Post
That appears to be the plan. They contacted me too.
Congrats for Ducky and Mekhazzio!

Edit: oops, wrote Major_Day instead of Ducky
__________________
Supporting:
Disapproving: progression, zoom, spawn on SL, spawns close to cap (RSOD)
Since: beta 1.0 UT2003

Last edited by Proud_God; 04-26-2012 at 09:20 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-26-2012, 09:05 AM
RAF_Pstyle RAF_Pstyle is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 267
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Proud_God View Post
Congrats for Major_Day and Mekhazzio!
Now how is that for developer/ customer cooperation!

Nice one guys (both TWI and the mutator makers!).
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-26-2012, 11:55 AM
Golf33 Golf33 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 922
Default

Well done guys and thank you to TWI for taking this step!
Reply With Quote
  Click here to go to the next developer post in this thread.   #18  
Old 04-27-2012, 09:24 AM
[TW]Ramm-Jaeger's Avatar
[TW]Ramm-Jaeger [TW]Ramm-Jaeger is offline
Tripwire Interactive President
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,852
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cliffs View Post
Wouldn't the non-use of BOTS eliminate any problems like this?
The point is, for servers that want their tanks to NOT have the AI disabled, what type of settings do they use?
__________________
[I support "RO Forums Classic" mode!!!]
Reply With Quote
  This is the last developer post in this thread.   #19  
Old 04-27-2012, 09:26 AM
[TW]Ramm-Jaeger's Avatar
[TW]Ramm-Jaeger [TW]Ramm-Jaeger is offline
Tripwire Interactive President
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,852
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by [40-1]MORD View Post
Some values exceed 100% as I noticed that even having 100% of penalty on medium and long ranges the ai hull gunner still scored some kills.
I've been looking into that. It appears that due to cone fire for the AI that is part of their shooting inaccuracy, even when they purposefully try and miss they might hit. That is because conefire actually ends up causing something like a "shotgun" effect. So even if they are trying to aim near a person and not hit them, they randomly get hit anyway. So I'm looking into resolving that as well.

My goal is to modify that system so that it would be something that people will want to use, not just give people an option to turn it off.
__________________
[I support "RO Forums Classic" mode!!!]
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-27-2012, 09:43 AM
melipone's Avatar
melipone melipone is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,627
Default

Can they have a realistic field of view, ability to miss seeing the target and a delay before they start aiming?

Humans don't always see everything, especially if a target isn't moving, is far away or in a dark area. People don't tend to focus on everything in the screen too, they may concentrate on only a 30 degree angle near where they're looking. They also have a lengthy delay before they start actually aiming, and they have a chance to miss the target

The thing with bots is they just never feel realistic no matter what, it feels cheap and like playing single player (not specifically referring to RO2). Thats not about how good someone is at programming AI, its just how it always is in every AI ever

Not only that, when I play multi player I want to get killed by humans. I don't see the point of getting killed by an AI, its just not fun and pointless
__________________


Last edited by melipone; 04-27-2012 at 09:44 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 - 2014, Tripwire Interactive, LLC