Tripwire Interactive Forums

Go Back   Tripwire Interactive Forums > Killing Floor Forums > Killing Floor General > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-06-2012, 06:32 PM
masteriamamind's Avatar
masteriamamind masteriamamind is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Evil Lair
Posts: 469
Default Magnum weight update info

I know the magnum weight being inaccurate is a issue that people are well aware of. My question is will it be fixed any time soon? A quick fix was needed for the exploit, but not having it accurately at 2lbs is making it less valuable as a weapon. Not to mention confusing new players. "Why can't I buy the gun? I have the room for it!" *rage quits* Pound for pound , bullet for bullet a accurately weighted .44 magnum would be the LAR of pistols.


UNRELATED QUESTION:
The SS descriptions is back to the old 1013 style. Body shot damage got axed for Sharp Shooters. Is this a typo or a restoration? Can anyone confirm damage dealt?
__________________
If it is weak, kill it or ignore it. Anything else honors it.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-06-2012, 09:28 PM
Althamus's Avatar
Althamus Althamus is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,239
Default

I haven't looked into the source files, but from everything I've seen ingame, it would appear that sharpshooters get no bonus damage to bodyshots at all, ie. EBR takes 2 shots to bodyshot a crawler on HoE, 9mm takes multiple bodyshots etc, and the maths is correct.

I think magnums will go back to 2 weight per pistol at some point, but unless the gun gets patched within a very short space of time, chances are fair it'll be months for it to get patched.

But yes, if it does weigh 2lbs, I can see me working it into a lot of my off-perk builds, since I normally take a sharpshooter wave 1 and swap anyways for the bonus money, and if I buy it with a sharpshooter L6, the magnum will be dirt cheap and allow me to single-headshot mobs offperk without bringing along a heavier weapon. Basically, the magnum will get used like my 9mm is used for my sharpshooter.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-07-2012, 03:41 AM
CandleJack's Avatar
CandleJack CandleJack is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: VIC
Posts: 3,408
Default

I used to use it as Berserker, with the M4 but since it doesn't weight 2kgs i can't any more.

I have 2 slots left over after getting my weapons, which i used to use for the M29, but since it no longer weighs 2kg in practice and only in the menu i can't fill it in.
__________________
203.217.24.135 - [}{] Killing Floor Legion server
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-07-2012, 04:13 AM
Amber Glass's Avatar
Amber Glass Amber Glass is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 844
Default

if im not mistaken, scary ghost made a mut that fixed this, and many other issues such as dropping dual wields and losing half the ammo pool.

this really needs to get fixed, i wanna use the magnum again, but i just cant justify taking it over the HC as it is.
__________________
DOSH RULES EVERYTHING AROUND ME
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-07-2012, 05:31 PM
Murphy's Avatar
Murphy Murphy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 7,068
Default

At the very least it should accurately note how much it weighs in the trader menu.
But yes, of course it should be fixed to weigh 2.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-07-2012, 10:26 PM
Lacedaemonius's Avatar
Lacedaemonius Lacedaemonius is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 995
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amber Glass View Post
if im not mistaken, scary ghost made a mut that fixed this, and many other issues such as dropping dual wields and losing half the ammo pool.

this really needs to get fixed, i wanna use the magnum again, but i just cant justify taking it over the HC as it is.
You mean this?
As it is right now, the .44 is exactly the same as the deagle brand deagle, except worse in every way. The only exception is that it can carry more ammo than the deagle, which is really a moot point considering how much weaker it is than the the deagle. At least when it was glitched it was fun. Seeing how easy it would be to fix, yet the fact that 3 months later it still isn't fixed (something TWI is oddly silent about) I would honestly be surprised if it's ever fixed.
__________________

Know the difference!

Last edited by Lacedaemonius; 04-07-2012 at 10:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-08-2012, 11:44 AM
pie1055's Avatar
pie1055 pie1055 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bedlam
Posts: 174
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lacedaemonius View Post
Seeing how easy it would be to fix, yet the fact that 3 months later it still isn't fixed (something TWI is oddly silent about) I would honestly be surprised if it's ever fixed.
This is something that strikes me as a case of 'the bug has been fixed but we wont release an update including it until we have enough other content to make it worth all the server mis-match errors'.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-10-2012, 03:29 AM
Wycked's Avatar
Wycked Wycked is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 69
Default

Maybe they're at opposite ends of what to actually do with the Magnum.. Personally I say stick it back as it was, weight 2 or even 3 if they wanted, heck, just bring the weight down. That thing was such a diverse, incredible little side-arm..
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-13-2012, 03:23 AM
greenlemonade's Avatar
greenlemonade greenlemonade is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 780
Default

It was a mistake. Magnum was supposed to weight 2 allowing for all kinds of fun loadouts for Sharpshooter AND off-perks.
Now that it weights 4, it is inferior to Handcannon in every way.
http://kf-wiki.com/wiki/.44_Magnum
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-13-2012, 07:35 AM
Splatpope's Avatar
Splatpope Splatpope is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,174
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenlemonade View Post
It was a mistake. Magnum was supposed to weight 2 allowing for all kinds of fun loadouts for Sharpshooter AND off-perks.
Now that it weights 4, it is inferior to Handcannon in every way.
http://kf-wiki.com/wiki/.44_Magnum
Don't quote KF-Wiki, it is ... insulting.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-13-2012, 11:04 AM
FluX FluX is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 4,993
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenlemonade View Post
It was a mistake. Magnum was supposed to weight 2 allowing for all kinds of fun loadouts for Sharpshooter AND off-perks.
Now that it weights 4, it is inferior to Handcannon in every way.
http://kf-wiki.com/wiki/.44_Magnum
It wasn't a mistake actually if you read the other threads on this forums OR read the patch log :P

TWI made it a 4 weight weapon for now UNTIL they fix the 2 weight bug that actually removed weight instead of added so you could potentially have every weapon in your inventory by using this bug.
__________________

www.fluxiservice.com - Friendly, supportive game server host awaiting your arrival.
>> My Custom Content Archive <<
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-13-2012, 02:37 PM
pie1055's Avatar
pie1055 pie1055 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bedlam
Posts: 174
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FluX View Post
TWI made it a 4 weight weapon for now UNTIL they fix the 2 weight bug that actually removed weight instead of added so you could potentially have every weapon in your inventory by using this bug.
Now, by all means the patch notes are probably correct, but... I remember it a bit differently. The way I remember it being was that when first released the weight values were 2 for a single, 4 for dual. Then they were updated so that duals were reduced to having 2 weight, but (from my best guess) the code that makes you lose 2 weight after losing one was not properly adjusted. After the weight glitch appeared they were updated a second time so that they weigh 4 at all times.

However, now that I think about it, that would mean that the code causing the glitch would have already been accounted for... This requires some research!

On a slightly different note, maybe TWI decided to leave their weight at 4 and see over the coming months whether or not they need to be re-balanced.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-13-2012, 03:32 PM
scary ghost's Avatar
scary ghost scary ghost is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: California
Posts: 876
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pie1055 View Post
Now, by all means the patch notes are probably correct, but... I remember it a bit differently. The way I remember it being was that when first released the weight values were 2 for a single, 4 for dual. Then they were updated so that duals were reduced to having 2 weight, but (from my best guess) the code that makes you lose 2 weight after losing one was not properly adjusted. After the weight glitch appeared they were updated a second time so that they weigh 4 at all times.

However, now that I think about it, that would mean that the code causing the glitch would have already been accounted for... This requires some research!

On a slightly different note, maybe TWI decided to leave their weight at 4 and see over the coming months whether or not they need to be re-balanced.
What..? The weight glitch was there from day 1 of the winter update and occurred because single was 2 and double was 4. Dual magnums were never changed to be weight 2. TWI's "fix" was to change the magnums to behave like the hand cannons instead of the properly addressing the weight exploit.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-13-2012, 04:12 PM
pie1055's Avatar
pie1055 pie1055 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bedlam
Posts: 174
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scary ghost View Post
What..? The weight glitch was there from day 1 of the winter update and occurred because single was 2 and double was 4. Dual magnums were never changed to be weight 2. TWI's "fix" was to change the magnums to behave like the hand cannons instead of the properly addressing the weight exploit.
Yeah that makes a lot more sense. I didn't even know about the glitch until around halfway through the event anyways so that was probably where I got mixed up

Does anyone know specifically what's wrong with the code so that [single = 2, dual = 4] doesn't work? There's three different weight values between the four files related to the magnums (2, 4, and a completely missing value in Dual44Magnum.uc) and it's something I would like to wrap my head around.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-13-2012, 04:42 PM
FluX FluX is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 4,993
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pie1055 View Post
Yeah that makes a lot more sense. I didn't even know about the glitch until around halfway through the event anyways so that was probably where I got mixed up

Does anyone know specifically what's wrong with the code so that [single = 2, dual = 4] doesn't work? There's three different weight values between the four files related to the magnums (2, 4, and a completely missing value in Dual44Magnum.uc) and it's something I would like to wrap my head around.
It's probably a bug inside the trader as i've worked a bit with the trader code fixing up my server with some dual weaponry.
__________________

www.fluxiservice.com - Friendly, supportive game server host awaiting your arrival.
>> My Custom Content Archive <<
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-13-2012, 06:08 PM
greenlemonade's Avatar
greenlemonade greenlemonade is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 780
Default

Well it would be great to get the weight back to 2 soon. Even a white-listed mutator would be awesome.

Actually, I'd love a mutator that lets the server set the weights of weapons to what they want. You remember our conversation about the LAW right? lol
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-14-2012, 03:36 AM
FluX FluX is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 4,993
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenlemonade View Post
Well it would be great to get the weight back to 2 soon. Even a white-listed mutator would be awesome.

Actually, I'd love a mutator that lets the server set the weights of weapons to what they want. You remember our conversation about the LAW right? lol
They wouldn't allow this as that could make all weapons weight just 1.
__________________

www.fluxiservice.com - Friendly, supportive game server host awaiting your arrival.
>> My Custom Content Archive <<
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 - 2014, Tripwire Interactive, LLC