Tripwire Interactive Forums

Go Back   Tripwire Interactive Forums > Killing Floor Forums > Killing Floor Modifications > General Modding Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 04-05-2012, 07:45 AM
FluX FluX is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5,017
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pie1055 View Post
Glad to hear your thoughts, everybody ^_^ Guess this means I'll have to keep you all updated on these meatgrinding monstrosities =D
If you need a coder, im up for it!
__________________

www.fluxiservice.com - Friendly, supportive game server host awaiting your arrival.
>> My Custom Content Archive <<
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 04-07-2012, 02:07 PM
pie1055's Avatar
pie1055 pie1055 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bedlam
Posts: 174
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FluX View Post
If you need a coder, im up for it!
Thanks for the offer, however I'm gonna take a stab at it myself first to see what I've gotten myself into. If I hit a wall I'll bring it up

bit of an update:
Spoiler!

Now, those are definitely in need of some tweaking. I ask this next question of those who have experience with this sort of thing. Would it be better to work on model/texture problems now or can it be managed later on?
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 04-07-2012, 02:45 PM
FluX FluX is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5,017
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pie1055 View Post
Now, those are definitely in need of some tweaking. I ask this next question of those who have experience with this sort of thing. Would it be better to work on model/texture problems now or can it be managed later on?
I'd personally say if you know the problem, do it as soon as just to get it out of the way and wont waste more time on it later as you may hit a "wall" where you have to redo stuff cause you thought you'd leave it.
__________________

www.fluxiservice.com - Friendly, supportive game server host awaiting your arrival.
>> My Custom Content Archive <<
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 04-07-2012, 03:01 PM
halbridious's Avatar
halbridious halbridious is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Michigan (USA)
Posts: 1,751
Default

Indeed - if you have a problem, fix it. If there's no problem, just a possibility that you need more work, move on if you wish. Never leave a problem unsolved tho.
__________________
How2 Install Mutators (a newbies quick guide): http://forums.tripwireinteractive.co...ad.php?t=50243

Pro-Tip:
DON'T DIE
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 04-07-2012, 03:36 PM
braindead's Avatar
braindead braindead is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Merry Ol' England
Posts: 917
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FluX View Post
I'd personally say if you know the problem, do it as soon as just to get it out of the way and wont waste more time on it later as you may hit a "wall" where you have to redo stuff cause you thought you'd leave it.
agreed

any texture/uvw work should be done prior to importing to the editor, as trying to do it after you have done your animations can be a real pain. especially if you decide to change the model.

I would look at smoothing groups prior to texturing too.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 04-08-2012, 01:13 PM
pie1055's Avatar
pie1055 pie1055 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bedlam
Posts: 174
Default

Thanks for the advice, everybody! I will continue with renewed vigor and see if I can't get these things to look the way I know they should
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 04-24-2012, 03:09 AM
pie1055's Avatar
pie1055 pie1055 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bedlam
Posts: 174
Default Update

Update:
Spoiler!


Got some progress, will edit OP...




...Later.


Zzzz...
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 04-24-2012, 03:53 AM
BenioX BenioX is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Poland
Posts: 2,014
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pie1055 View Post
Update:
Spoiler!
Is it just me or you don't have arms when using those? It will be fixed right?

Last edited by BenioX; 04-24-2012 at 11:59 AM. Reason: ARMS not HANDS lol silly me :P
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 04-24-2012, 04:47 AM
FluX FluX is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5,017
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenioX View Post
Is it just me or you don't have hands when using those? It will be fixed right?
The hands are inside I guess so why would hands be needed? If you're talking about having the player's arms show, that I can maybe agree with.
__________________

www.fluxiservice.com - Friendly, supportive game server host awaiting your arrival.
>> My Custom Content Archive <<
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 04-24-2012, 11:58 AM
BenioX BenioX is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Poland
Posts: 2,014
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FluX View Post
The hands are inside I guess so why would hands be needed? If you're talking about having the player's arms show, that I can maybe agree with.
Oops yes, sorry, my mistake I meant arms
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 04-24-2012, 12:58 PM
halbridious's Avatar
halbridious halbridious is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Michigan (USA)
Posts: 1,751
Default

arms would be nice
the model looks good, but i hope the texture gets some work, all that streaky-ness is kinda weird

YAY PROGRESS
__________________
How2 Install Mutators (a newbies quick guide): http://forums.tripwireinteractive.co...ad.php?t=50243

Pro-Tip:
DON'T DIE
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 04-24-2012, 04:19 PM
pie1055's Avatar
pie1055 pie1055 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bedlam
Posts: 174
Default

It does have arms, although that pic didn't capture them. I think you see them in only one of the animations so far, but they do exist
Spoiler!

And before anyone asks, yes the arms change their texture based upon what character you're using, too
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 04-24-2012, 04:52 PM
BenioX BenioX is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Poland
Posts: 2,014
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pie1055 View Post
It does have arms, although that pic didn't capture them. I think you see them in only one of the animations so far, but they do exist
Spoiler!

And before anyone asks, yes the arms change their texture based upon what character you're using, too
Oh that's awesome! I was affraid we use floating FP hands using power of will
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 05-05-2012, 09:59 AM
BenioX BenioX is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Poland
Posts: 2,014
Default

*BUMP*
Been quite a while since last info on this... I know I might be impatient, but is it still being progressed on?
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 05-05-2012, 12:58 PM
pie1055's Avatar
pie1055 pie1055 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bedlam
Posts: 174
Default

Still in progress, nothing big enough for an update yet/haven't had the most time to work on it lately. Cant give all the secrets away before you guys get your hands on it

When it reaches beta I'll post a vid of its first trial run against real live zeds.


One question I've been wondering about; How does one change ones spawning loadout for the purpose of testing a weapon? I assume it has something to do with veterancy/perk files but have yet to look into it.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 05-05-2012, 01:10 PM
Gartley's Avatar
Gartley Gartley is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 2,325
Default

I just use a simple mut compiled with the weapon for testing


Quote:
class MutHammer extends Mutator;

function ModifyPlayer(Pawn Player)
{
Super.ModifyPlayer(Player);
Player.GiveWeapon("WhiskyHammer.WHammer");
}

defaultproperties
{
bAddToServerPackages=True
GroupName="KF-MutHammer"
FriendlyName="Whisky Sledge Hammer Mutator"
Description="You start the game with a Sledge Hammer."
}
__________________
Whisky's Workshop
"As you can see here, I'm -ALL ON MY F***ING OWN! Guys where the hell are you?!"
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 05-05-2012, 01:55 PM
pie1055's Avatar
pie1055 pie1055 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bedlam
Posts: 174
Default

Works like I knew what I was doing. Many thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 05-05-2012, 07:24 PM
BenioX BenioX is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Poland
Posts: 2,014
Default

Glad to hear you didn't abandon this!
Sorry for my impatience
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 05-05-2012, 07:50 PM
FluX FluX is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5,017
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenioX View Post
Glad to hear you didn't abandon this!
Sorry for my impatience
Heck if you didn't ask, I was going to. You wasn't that impatient to be honest but this is one project I am wanting to try out lol.
__________________

www.fluxiservice.com - Friendly, supportive game server host awaiting your arrival.
>> My Custom Content Archive <<
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 05-13-2012, 04:10 PM
BenioX BenioX is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Poland
Posts: 2,014
Default

I know it's stupid question, yet I dare to be stupid and ask: will you also bother to make some kind of skin for players making them look like Fleshpound?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 - 2014, Tripwire Interactive, LLC