• Please make sure you are familiar with the forum rules. You can find them here: https://forums.tripwireinteractive.com/index.php?threads/forum-rules.2334636/

3D & Animation The DrGuppy Static Mesh Thread! *applause*

[TW]DrGuppy

Tripwire Interactive Staff
Nov 22, 2005
Atlanta, Georgia
Since there's not a whole lot of mapping I can do until Ostfront comes out I've decided to take up modelling/skinning so I can stop stealing static meshes from everyone else to use in my maps. :rolleyes: I've decided to use the Maya PLE 7.0 (Personal Learning Edition) after trying MAX 5 for a week or so of stress-filled fun. This is my first attempt at modelling (unless a cube tutorial counts ;) ), so comments are more than welcome!

Step aside Dingbat and your awesome high poly models, there's a new kid in town! :p

German Entrenching Tool - (Poly Count = 293)

GermanEntrenchingTool.jpg

Yes, there are watermarks because the PLE version of Maya is free. Also, please don't comment on the texturing quite yet, because I haven't started. Photoshop isn't being nice to me at the moment.

I will be updating this thread as I go along the merry path of learning to make static meshes for use in RO:O. Until next time... uh, stay in school.

Last edited:
Great spade, but I have a little critic, if that picture was your reference: The seam between the blade and the handle seems not as smooth as in the pic, and also might not be positioned right, but that's hard to tell from that angle...

Yours seems to look like this:

While the one on the image would rather look like this:

Sorry for the very rough sketches, but that's as good as it can ge using a friggen touchpad and paint :( no "tools" at the office...

Last edited:
Upvote 0
worluk said:
thats most certainly a question how many (or better few) polies you want to fit in the model