• Please make sure you are familiar with the forum rules. You can find them here: https://forums.tripwireinteractive.com/index.php?threads/forum-rules.2334636/

3D & Animation [weapon] First try: The Minigun

blaat

Nov 9, 2011
So, this is my first try to make a weapon.
Since I haven't touched 3dsmax or UE2 ever, it was a bit difficult at the beginning.
It's very basic, only 1st person view and simple sound and animations.

Note that these videos don't give all detail at 30FPS, like the barrel spinning when firing.

http://youtu.be/lLEkeEc1i2w
http://youtu.be/bGQ6m3tmo9U

Still figuring out the code.
Is there a site that gives more info?
F.e.
TweenTime
Type:
float

This, I can find everywhere.

But i'm looking for a detailed description of what it does?

Last edited:
I really want to release it some day, but it needs a lot of work.
It looks great in-game, but I want a better barrel spin up and spin down.

What it actually does now, is repeating 1 fire animation.
It works ofcourse (can't see it very good in the youtube vid because of frame limit), but it should be split up in a spin up / fire loop / spin down configuration.

It doesn't have to be overpowered, just carry a backpack full of ammo :)
Or to be more realistic, it is technically possible to carry such a weapon that uses a small calliber ammo.
In KF, it should be something like a default glock but with a very high fire rate and probably a bit less dmg.

Spoiler!

When I got something ready or need someone to finish it, i'll let you all know.
Just got a new job and accidentally bought diablo 3 which consumes all my spare time now :p

Upvote 0
So here's a preview for my other project, the pyrotechnician.

[url]http://youtu.be/4urDvQL1heg[/URL]

The animations are not complete and are missing the correct timing, but that's why I call it a preview :)

This weapon will have 2 types of ammo (or 2 weapons with each their own ammo).
Rockets and shells.