• Please make sure you are familiar with the forum rules. You can find them here: https://forums.tripwireinteractive.com/index.php?threads/forum-rules.2334636/

Mutator request (or just give me a hint...?)

Varokhar

FNG / Fresh Meat
Feb 19, 2008
Hello all!

Well, of course I'm a newbie with a question like this. So, here goes - could someone either whip up a mutator that permits both sides to choose weapons from the opposing force, or just point me towards a walkthrough that is simple enough for a mod-and-mutator illiterate like me to figure out?

In the war, as in all wars, both sides employed captured weaponry. I thought it would be nice to allow this option on RO (seeing as the KurlandKessel map allows German squad leaders to use the PPSh, for instance) for both historicity and the simple fun of playing with a variety of weapons from both factions.

Unless of course there are console commands that allow one to do this in-game - as I said, I'm relatively ignorant as to RO's inner workings as well as modding in general. I'm still puzzling out the SDK and making little sense of the online tutorials I've checked out.

Thanks!

It would be difficult to create a mutator that when applied to any map opened up a choice from the enemies armoury.

However- as you can gather from Kurland,the mapper can assign enemy weapons to a class- or offer them as a choice.
So it would mean editing a map and working in the RO editor - i strongly suggest seeking the map's maker's go ahead to do this though.
However it appears that stock maps like StalingradKessel or Krasny are fair game for editing.

If you go for it check the level design forums or the RO editor tutorials for how to do it - but it's quite simple. Each class has an Actor that contains all the information about that class - just edit the available weapons from a drop down list.

Upvote 0
It would be difficult to create a mutator that when applied to any map opened up a choice from the enemies armoury.